Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-10-2018, 03:53 PM

(Pic 1),(Pic 2)
- Out with the Old, In with the New
(Pic)
RV-8, 1938 Tach Hours (Pic 1),(Pic 2) - Sold

Glasflügel Standard Libelle 201B, N564NS - Sold
Rolladen-Schneider LS1-f, N61MP - No longer owned

Last edited by RV8JD : 02-01-2019 at 10:27 PM.
Old 06-05-2018, 06:02 AM

Default A suggestion...

Carl,

I'll not attempt to argue with your figures as I am no aeronautical engineer. However, if you think that Van's maneuvering speeds are incorrect I would hope that you will contact Dick VanG. We may all benefit from having both of you address this issue together. I am sending you Van's email via PM.
Track Me *** Gold Hill Airpark (NC25)
VAF 2019 Donor
"Flying is the art of throwing yourself at the ground and missing."
Old 06-05-2018, 06:27 PM

Wow, that quite a difference, I think I'll lower my Va to something less than the current 124 Kts (down to about 105) until this gets cleared up!

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1700+ hrs
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Old 06-05-2018, 07:43 PM

Based on the formulas above, it appears the RV-14 Va's are calculated
using the clean stall speed, Vs, not Vso as is the case with the -8/8a.
Regardless of aerobatic or utility load limit, which stall speed should
be used, Vs or Vso?
RV-6, sold, 820 hrs of fun.
Old 06-05-2018, 08:40 PM

Default FAR 23.335 - Design Airspeeds

Clean stalling speed V sub s.

If the published stall speeds are flaps down and the calculations for maneuvering speed(s) by the OP are using those speeds, then I believe the Va speeds being calculated above are suspect.

Locust Grove, GA