VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Main > RV General Discussion/News
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2019, 06:53 PM
Vern's Avatar
Vern Vern is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Peachtree City, Ga
Posts: 1,014
Default Dynon SV-Intercom -2S Opinions ???

Is anyone using the Dynon SV-Intercom in lieu of a traditional audio panel?
Your opinion please?

The manual says that if you have two radios you need a microswitch to select the radio that transmits. I suppose one would use the radio volume to select the radio you are listening on.

What say ye?
__________________
Vern Darley
Awarded FAA "The Wright Brothers 'Master Pilot' Award"- for 50 years safe flying

RV-6A N680V / RV-10QB N353RV
Luscombe 8E N2423K 50+years
Hatz Biplane N2423Z soon to be birthed
Falcon RV Squadron Founder
KFFC Hanger D-30
Peachtree City, Ga
770 310-7169
EAA Technical Counselor #5142
EAA Flight Advisor #486336
ATP/CFI/A&P/DAR
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2019, 11:42 PM
bruceh's Avatar
bruceh bruceh is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ramona, CA
Posts: 2,279
Default

I have the intercom and COMM radio from Dynon. The intercom works fine. You control the volume on it for intercom communications, and the volume knob on the radio for radio communications. I really only adjust the squelch on it between flying and ground operations. It has two audio inputs and both seem to function well for hooking up your iPhone to listen to music or podcasts.

The Dynon COMM has "dual-watch" capability, so I use that whenever I need to be on approach and also try and pick up ATIS. I have the space for the second radio, but haven't put one in yet. Not sure for my use if I would need it or use it for my VFR flying. If I was IFR and/or needing to listen to VOR's, I would get a real audio panel.
__________________
Bruce Hill
RV-9A N5771H flown over 700 hours!
http://www.overthehills.com/RV-9A-Project
APRS Tracking for KJ6YRP and New Flying Blog
2019 VAF donator
EAA Tech Counselor, Build assistance - canopy/tanks/fiberglass/electrical/repairs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2019, 01:05 AM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 6,162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vern View Post
Is anyone using the Dynon SV-Intercom in lieu of a traditional audio panel?
Your opinion please?

The manual says that if you have two radios you need a microswitch to select the radio that transmits. I suppose one would use the radio volume to select the radio you are listening on.

What say ye?
I have a home-brew intercom which functions similarly. Yes, you use the radio’s volume control(s) to select what you listen to. To ID a VOR, turn up the nav volume (VOR output is wired to an ‘always on’ input).To swap radios, flip the microswitch, turn up the new volume, turn down the old.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2020, 01:08 AM
keitht keitht is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: coupeville wa
Posts: 103
Default Interfacing to GTR 200 and GNC 255

One of the nice features on both these radios is the capability for the audio from the selected frequency to be ported to the left ear and the backup channel ported to the right ear when the monitor function on the radio is selected. The problem is that using the SV-Intecom-2S radio 1 & 2 inputs they take only a mono signal so that the radio feature wouldn’t be available. I wondered if anyone had considered putting a DPDT changeover switch to select between the GTR200 and the GNC255 wiring the intercom radio 1 designated input to the left channel of the selected radio output and the intercom radio 2 input to the right channel of the selected radio input. If this would work it would solve two problems. Having to turn the volume down on the non selected radio and having the capability to monitor the alternate frequency in the other ear. So there would be two switches external to the intercom - one to select the radio being transmitted on - the other to select the radio being listened to. If there were a convenient 3 pole two way switch it could all be achieved with one switch.
May be worth wiring up that configuration and seeing if it works.

KT
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2020, 05:51 AM
Mark Dickens's Avatar
Mark Dickens Mark Dickens is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Collierville, TN (KFYE)
Posts: 1,329
Default

Turning the volume up and down to switch between coms got a little old, so I just added a "com1/both/com2" switch. It works fine, but had I to do this over again, I'd just bite the bullet and put in a real audio panel. Now I have two switches to flip to go between coms, one for the mike and one for the audio.
__________________
RV-8 #81077 Super Slow Build
Dynon Skyview HDX, Titan IOX-370, Dual P-Mags, AFP FM200A FI, Whirlwind 200RV CS Prop
First Flight 11/20/2016
www.marksrv8.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2020, 07:05 AM
Vern's Avatar
Vern Vern is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Peachtree City, Ga
Posts: 1,014
Default Update

Since I asked the original question a year ago , I pulled the Dynon unit and put a cover over the hole. I installed a Garmin com panel so my audio would be setup for two com radio use.
__________________
Vern Darley
Awarded FAA "The Wright Brothers 'Master Pilot' Award"- for 50 years safe flying

RV-6A N680V / RV-10QB N353RV
Luscombe 8E N2423K 50+years
Hatz Biplane N2423Z soon to be birthed
Falcon RV Squadron Founder
KFFC Hanger D-30
Peachtree City, Ga
770 310-7169
EAA Technical Counselor #5142
EAA Flight Advisor #486336
ATP/CFI/A&P/DAR
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-20-2020, 12:55 PM
keitht keitht is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: coupeville wa
Posts: 103
Default

As I get closer to finishing wiring my panel the issues with using the Dynon intercom for IFR bother me more given the non ideal options for radio switching and control. I haven’t given up yet and switched the intercom out for a more conventional audio control panel but I am close. My original baseline was to not get into designing any electronics (something I did for the first 20 years of my working life). My focus was about staying on track to finish building the airplane and not get sidetracked into electronics design and manufacturing. So its back to the drawing board to figure out a strategy that doesn't require a new panel layout and creates something that will have the features of a conventional audio panel. I may end up with an interim solution. Will post when I have a solution.

KT
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-20-2020, 01:30 PM
N546RV's Avatar
N546RV N546RV is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 862
Default

With the Skyview radio's dual-watch feature, I've pretty well convinced myself that I don't need a second radio, even for IFR. That, in turn, mitigated the same concerns being mentioned here as to the wiring and switchology to allow for two radios.

However, the caveat here is that, well, I'm not instrument-rated yet, so I'm lacking in real-world experience to apply here. Is there a particular IFR situation that would definitively call for two radios instead of just using dual watch? The only thing I can really think of is redundancy in case of a failure. For that, I intend to tote along a handheld, and the plane can either have a switch box to allow tapping into the ship's antenna, or just a remote antenna kit to use inside the plane.

For the type of flying I intend to do (VFR and everyone's favorite "light IFR"), I feel this is a satisfactory setup.
__________________
Philip
-8 fuselage in progress (remember when I thought the wing kit had a lot of parts? HAHAHAHAHA)
http://rv.squawk1200.net
https://www.meetup.com/Houston-Area-RV-Enthusiasts/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-20-2020, 01:59 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 6,162
Default

In my year-old post above (#3) I mentioned that I have a Dynon-like home built intercom. It takes two actions - a switch, plus ‘turn up the volume’ - to change transmitters. But, in nearly 9 years of flying this plane, both vfr and ifr, I have transmitted on #2 exactly two times (not counting doing it just to make sure it still works!). Both times were because #1, using a belly-mounted antenna, had trouble on the ground. I feel no need to change audio panels to a more deluxe version. OTOH, I like having two radios. I use #2 radio to listen to ATIS (no switching involved, just turn up the volume). Yes, #1 has a monitor mode, but around here ATC is so busy you have listen on monitor mode about 10 ATIS cycles to get all the numbers. It’s easier to listen on two radios simultaneously.
Same thing for VOR/ILS morse code - just turn up the nav volume so you hear both (although with the SL-30 I actually use a pre-set nav volume and switch it using a button on the SL30 itself).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-20-2020, 02:06 PM
Mark Dickens's Avatar
Mark Dickens Mark Dickens is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Collierville, TN (KFYE)
Posts: 1,329
Default

It's a personal decision. I like having two built in coms. Handhelds are lower power and there's the spaghetti of wiring usually involved. Just personal preference plus years of flying certified planes with complete panels.
__________________
RV-8 #81077 Super Slow Build
Dynon Skyview HDX, Titan IOX-370, Dual P-Mags, AFP FM200A FI, Whirlwind 200RV CS Prop
First Flight 11/20/2016
www.marksrv8.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:43 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.