What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Fuselage Options

gfb

Well Known Member
I have a fuse on order and am thinking through any add/delete items. I know this has been talked to pieces in other threads, but as a newbie I am rather lost as to why some things were swapped out. Don't get me wrong, I am all about spending money on good upgrades...

Grove cylinders? Why?
Beringer wheels/brakes/parking brake?
- are these worth it? Should I also go with their master cyl/reservoirs? expensive! :)
- http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/lgpages/beringer5rv.php?clickkey=38763
- http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/lgpages/beringer5rvfinishing.php?clickkey=38763

Replace all hoses for teflon or other fancyness?

Also, parking brake? Worth it?

I've been flying my -6 for 22 years without a parking brake. Have only wished I had one maybe twice.
But, I seldom fly solo. Ann is usually there to hold the brakes while I get out and chock.
If you fly solo a lot, a parking brake would probably come in handy more times than not.

I like my brake when my head is down copying clearances.

Agreed, it isn't necessary.

...just nice to have.

:cool: CJ

I see you're in Wisconsin, and I imagine it can sometimes get windy there. I've only been flying less than a year but in Kansas I have come to really appreciate my parking brake. When flying solo the parking brake is often the only way to keep my plane from rolling away at the fuel pump before I can get out and off the wing to chock it. And this is with a slider canopy.

If you have a tip-up (think sailboat) I bet it can be even worse.

Ok, sounds like parking brake is a yes.

Any thoughts on going with the beringer fuse kit? Its almost $2k... I definitely want to go with braided hoses and adding the parking brake is a bit of extra cash but I don't think that fancy red anodizing is worth all that money :)