What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Getting ready to order final components

Phantom30

Well Known Member
I've been chewing on which avionics package to order for some time. Dynon vs Garmin. I have already installed Dynon AP servos......but my gut keeps telling me for to take a deep breath; and go with tried and true Garmin.

I know they charge for every bloody iddy biddy item.....but what they do....works! Guess I've made up my mind:D

Would love to hear from anyone who has flown with both systems...pro/con

Garmin Is Garmin

Sorry I have no experience with Dynon and the Garmin Touch is new.
Garmin Is Garmin..
The Question I have, If Something between the Garmin radios and Dynon Is not working who do you call.

I Like the Idea of all the responsibly to be with the same manufacture.
I also like the smart servo from Garmin.
I will have all Garmin panel.
And Garmin Pilot on my Ipad.
It all looks the same.

My View

Can't comment on Skyview, but my D-180 AP-74 plays well with myGarmin 396. Initially I had an occasional "Nav Source Lost" problem while in Nav mode, but the last Dynon update seems to have fixed that.

I struggled with the same decision a while back. I decided on the Dynon to a large degree because when they added the touch screen they retained the button interface across the bottom while Garmin eliminated most of theirs. I like the idea of being able to use either.

I think both systems are `tried and true', at least insofar as that term can apply to products that are constantly evolving. My Skyview came with version 3.1 software, and we're now up to 12.xx! The great thing is that Vans have given builders two systems to choose from. I will say that I have found Dynon support to be excellent, even here, and that to me is just as important as the capability of the system.