What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Transfer drawings on plans to metal

jnjhirsch

I'm a new builder. Actually, I'm on the practice kit phase. I need to transfer outline drawings to metal. Multiple stiffeners need to cut from a piece of angle aluminum. The Van's drawings are not to scale and outline what needs to be removed. Is there a good way to transfer the lines on the drawing (not to scale) to the piece of aluminum that needs to be cut?

If the practice kit is like the real thing, there are small notches in the angles that indicate where to begin each cut. I would think the practice kit may be the same. I never had to transfer anything from plans to metal besides basic measurements that were made clear on the plans. Otherwise you may have to do some deducing based on where the stiffener is going...

Chris

I'm a new builder.

I would recommend you get some training in layout procedures and tools. It sounds like that is not one of your current skill sets.

Find your local EAA chapter and get a member to go over it with you (there is one at KDMW), or take a basic sheet metal class at your local tech school, or go to one of the RV building tech centers for their class.

I found in my standard build kit, there was much more layout required than Yellowjacket has alluded to. It is true that the elevator and rudder stiffeners have starter notches but there are plenty of brackets in the plane that need to be fabricated from scratch.

Nice avatar choice by the way. :)

Last edited:
Transfer

Layout on aluminum is done best with a very fine point Sharpie. Don't us a pencil. If you use a scribe be sure you are able to file/blend out the scratches. They will have a chance of propagating into cracks.