What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Lycoming IO-540 Oil Pressure Question

Vans101

Well Known Member
For the Lyco-Saurus IO-540 drivers out there, what is your "usual" oil pressure for the following parameters:

Idle at 1000 RPM engine cold (like 50F oil temp)

Idle at 1000 RPM engine cold-ish (like 120F oil temp)

Takeoff with oil temp at 180-200F

Cruise with oil temp at 180-200F (2300 RPM)

After landing idle 1000 RPM with engine and oil all warmed up

Also, how far in has your oil pressure regulator been turned in (1/4 threaded in/ 1/2 threaded in / all the way threaded in)?

Thanks I am new to Lycoming and I am trying to benchmark my installation

THANKS!!!

Can anyone PLEASE share their experience???

Here is what my system is reading with fresh Aeroshell 100W Plus:

POST OIL CHANGE ENGINE RUN RPM OIL TEMP OIL PRESS

Startup: 1000 73 91

Idling after 10 mins 1000 103 86

Runup 1700 105 82

Max power runup 2600 111 79

Cruise power setting 2500 143 62

Idle after engine run 1000 165 26 Just 1 PSI over minimum allowable with oil at only 165 F

Can anyone PLEASE share their experience??? I am concerned about my idle oil pressure appears to be a bit low...just 1 PSI over minimum allowable with oil at only 165 F. The engine has only 170 hours since major overhaul. It has an oiul fed and regulated turbocharger system from a 1970 vintage Cessna 210.

Here is what my system is reading with fresh Aeroshell 100W Plus:

POST OIL CHANGE ENGINE RUN RPM OIL TEMP OIL PRESS

Startup: 1000 73 91

Idling after 10 mins 1000 103 86

Runup 1700 105 82

Max power runup 2600 111 79

Cruise power setting 2500 143 62

Idle after engine run 1000 165 26