What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Need Help With an Electrical Issue I Can't Solve

Nihon_Ni

Well Known Member
I've been working on installing my electrical system for a couple months now, and I'm starting to feel pretty confident with what I'm doing. However, I ran into an issue this weekend that I can't figure out, and I need some help from the collective to figure this one out.

I have two pairs of red LED lights that I'm installing in the cockpit on a dimmer switch.

full

Gooseneck lights: https://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/elpages/britt-mgn-minigoose.php

Flood lights: https://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/elpages/intmaplight.php

Dimmer switch: https://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/elpages/singlechannelpwm.php

Before I installed these lights, I tested the circuit design using alligator clip jumpers I bought at the Fly Market this year at AirVenture, and they all worked in series. I soldered wires to the leads on each of the lights, according to the diagram I constructed, and crimped knife disconnects in the two locations on the drawing. But when I applied power and twisted the dimmer, nothing happened.

All my wires are labeled, and there isn't anything out of position. I removed the dimmer switch and added a jumper from the ground point to the ground lead wire (blue box #1) and another jumper from the power bus to the power lead (#2). This didn't turn the lights on.

With the power jumper still on #2, I disconnected the knife splices and moved the ground jumper to #3 and the right light came on.

I then replaced the ground jumper back to #1, and added a jumper from #3 to #6, (power still attached at #2) and both gooseneck lights came on. (I've also connected the knife disconnects at #3 and #6 and the goose neck lights work in that configuration.)

I then moved the power jumper to #4 and ground to #5 and the two flood lights came on.