VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 12-27-2009, 09:00 AM
Tony_T's Avatar
Tony_T Tony_T is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,167
Default Removable GPS?

I have been trying to decide a strategy for managing the Garmin 496. If you make it easily removable, then if you leave the aircraft is parked somewhere like on a cross country, you have the possibilty of theft. There is no canopy lock on the 12 and even if you had it, the typical thief might break the bubble trying to get in. You could remove the GPS though and pack it around with you, kind of a nuisance.
On the other hand, if you install it without making it removable there is going to be a big hassle to update the aviation database. You will need to install a USB extension cable, maybe in from the map box so you can hook up a laptop to the GPS. But, the FlyGarmin software needs to have an active internet connection to update the 496. No internet in most hangars. So that means disassembling the whole GPS mount to get it out and take it home. I have emailed Garmin about a work around for this but have not gotten an answer yet.
The other issue is cosmetic. I care what my panel looks like. If you enlarge the GPS cutout enough to get the unit out from the front then the hole becomes unsightly in my opinion. So, to make it removeable, I would install the Airgizmo dock after certification, which makes a professional looking job of it. Big hassle though, because throttle, choke and heat cables would have to be removed to get the center panel off. This could have been done right to begin with.
Has anyone figured out how to update the 496 with it in the plane and no active internet connection? Maybe you can not.

Tony
__________________
Tony
RV-12 #202 -- Flying

Last edited by Tony_T : 12-27-2009 at 10:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2009, 10:30 AM
todehnal todehnal is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky Lakes area in KY
Posts: 882
Default Air Gizmo

I don't understand why Van's didn't use the Gizmo. I happened to have one and can't see that it would add additional weight and there is plenty of room. I'm working on other things right now and, choosing to go EAB, allows me to make that decision during the build.

Tom
__________________
2013- RV12, Kit #119. N123M First flight Nov21. It's a keeper!
1998- RV-9 tail kit, built and sold
1989- RV-6 tail kit, built and sold
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2009, 11:09 AM
RGaines RGaines is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 150
Default 12 security

I went another way. Since it does not have a lock to provide security I fit the GPS so that it can not be removed from the panel. It is pretty obvious that it can't. I bought the canopy cover and use it. When we are away from the airplane we take the headsets in a dual headset bag and then cover the canopy. I realize that is pretty thin as security goes. Out of sight out of mind. People peeking under canopy covers are a bit more obvious and noticeable on an airport ramp.

I have posted here before that on our old -6 we had a canopy lock and kept it locked. We had nothing removable in the panel but we tended to leave head sets etc. in the cockpit. Some one tried to brake in once. They could not get in but did manage to crack the canopy. It is way cheaper to have them steal something than brake the canopy.

I don't think that there is a good security option for any airplane. If someone sees something they want they will break in to try to get it and probably damage the airplane at the same time. I think it is more a commentary on people than having anything to do with security.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2009, 12:09 PM
Snowflake's Avatar
Snowflake Snowflake is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,896
Default

I plan to mount my Aera in a Gizmo mount as soon as they make one available. Until then, i'm hacking one of the stock Garmin mounts to mount it to the dash in a way that makes it removable. My canopy *does* have a lock, but I still expect to remove headsets and GPS when I park it. I figure if I am carrying headsets away, carrying a GPS away isn't an issue.

And really, with the Aera having a full north amerian driving database as well as aviation, if i've flown to some remote town i'm probably going to *want* the GPS with me anyway... So I can find my way back to the plane!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-27-2009, 12:23 PM
N941WR's Avatar
N941WR N941WR is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 10,944
Default

My 496 is mounted with an Airgizmo in my RV-9.

When traveling I take the 496 out and use it in auto mode to find my destination. (The 496 holds the entire North American road database, unlike the 396.)
__________________
Bill R.
RV-9 (Yes, it's a dragon tail)
O-360 w/ dual P-mags
Build the plane you want, not the plane others want you to build!
SC86 - Easley, SC
www.repucci.com/bill/baf.html
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2009, 12:19 AM
Larry Motley Larry Motley is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Long Beach, Ca
Posts: 13
Default Stealing Garmins

Shame Garmin didn't put in a little radio that calls home with GPS location everytime its turned on..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-28-2009, 04:58 AM
n8zg's Avatar
n8zg n8zg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Navarre, FL
Posts: 162
Default Removeable GPS

When Steve Davis (http://www.thepanelpilot.com/) cut my panel, he made this piece for my 496:



I took the receiver clip off the yoke mount supplied with the 496 and mounted it to the blank. Bent the legs to place the face of the 496 in line with the rest of the radio stack. Looks like this:


__________________
Neal George
Navarre, FL
CherokeeJet N9586J
RV-7 N8ZG (all the loose ends)
Continental Motors Tech Support
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-02-2017, 08:18 AM
AirHound AirHound is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: OFallon IL now, everywhere before
Posts: 157
Default

Tony, thanks for the ground loop insulator. Following is history as far as you early RV12ers, however, me being a late/non-builder bloomer, am thinking along your lines below. What do you think about this? Rather than disassemble the panel to remove the thin fascia and then install a gizmo-- just cut the thin facia, not the rack, with a dremmil tool/saw, horizontally on each side of the radio which should be the narrowest points/less obvious and non structural, on the facia and unscrew the top half of the facia which encloses the 496. Then measure and resize the facia and install the 496 gismo and fascia?

Doug in IL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony_T View Post
I have been trying to decide a strategy for managing the Garmin 496. If you make it easily removable, then if you leave the aircraft is parked somewhere like on a cross country, you have the possibilty of theft. There is no canopy lock on the 12 and even if you had it, the typical thief might break the bubble trying to get in. You could remove the GPS though and pack it around with you, kind of a nuisance.
On the other hand, if you install it without making it removable there is going to be a big hassle to update the aviation database. You will need to install a USB extension cable, maybe in from the map box so you can hook up a laptop to the GPS. But, the FlyGarmin software needs to have an active internet connection to update the 496. No internet in most hangars. So that means disassembling the whole GPS mount to get it out and take it home. I have emailed Garmin about a work around for this but have not gotten an answer yet.
The other issue is cosmetic. I care what my panel looks like. If you enlarge the GPS cutout enough to get the unit out from the front then the hole becomes unsightly in my opinion. So, to make it removeable, I would install the Airgizmo dock after certification, which makes a professional looking job of it. Big hassle though, because throttle, choke and heat cables would have to be removed to get the center panel off. This could have been done right to begin with.
Has anyone figured out how to update the 496 with it in the plane and no active internet connection? Maybe you can not.

Tony
__________________
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-02-2017, 01:57 PM
Tony_T's Avatar
Tony_T Tony_T is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,167
Default

Your plan sounds like it would work. Biggest problem I think would be making those two short cuts cleanly so the job looks good. I would slip some thin sheet metal behind the area to be cut to keep from nicking the stack angles. I would remove both the radio and the transponder and mask everything off really well; there will be a lot of metal dust from the cutting. If you haven't removed these units ever before review the installation manuals (available on-line) and there are also posts in this forum on how to get them out. I do know that the AirGizmo will fit between the stack angles but you may have to drill mounting holes.
__________________
Tony
RV-12 #202 -- Flying
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-02-2017, 02:54 PM
AirHound AirHound is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: OFallon IL now, everywhere before
Posts: 157
Default

Good!

Tony, ? is disassembling/removing from the panel; the throttle, choke control, heater control, ap disconnect button a big to do, to do? And if at all avoidable do so. then avoid.....because....... there will be un-fun nagging adjustments to deal with later because Things Got Disturbed....???

I'm just trying to avoid nagging avoidable issues....

Thanks,
Doug
__________________
Doug
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.