- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-8/8A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-10-2017, 07:49 AM

Default Instrument access panel

I just finished doing the "access panel mod" to the forward baggage upper bulkhead. I did not find a lot of specific guidance about how folks accomplished this so I thought I would share how I did mine.

So if you want to see how to mess this simple project up - I have it documented on my Facebook "builder log".

I try to document all of my mistakes and recovery from mistakes. Comments and advice are always welcome.

Insert basic disclaimer here - I'm a second year student
GTN 625
GNC 255
GTR 20
GTX 45R
G5 x 2

Facebook "log" https://www.facebook.com/BZsRVproject/

Last edited by SgtZim : 03-10-2017 at 06:28 PM.
Old 03-10-2017, 12:21 PM

Default Sure.

Looks good to me. We did much the same with no hinge or doubler, just screws all the way around the cutout. Once you get up and work most of the bugs out you will find you don't open it much at all, and if you are servicing the brakes are have the forward baggage panels out if you open that cover it will flop down in you way. Good job keep it up, Yours, R.E.A. III #80888
Old 03-10-2017, 12:39 PM

I did mine about the same as you. I left the hinge pin long enough so that I can pull it out and remove the door if necessary. That's the plan, but I don't have the top skin on yet so I'm not sure it will work.

Tail kit completed on Feb 8, 2012 (180 hrs)
Wing kit mostly completed, fuselage under construction as of March 6, 2014 (750 hrs)
Paid up for 2016
Old 03-10-2017, 07:46 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nihon_Ni View Post
I did mine about the same as you. I left the hinge pin long enough so that I can pull it out and remove the door if necessary. That's the plan, but I don't have the top skin on yet so I'm not sure it will work.