Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-8/8A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-01-2017, 12:04 PM

Default RV-8 Wings: What would you do differently if you had to build them again.

Hello all,

I am building an RV-8 in Ireland. This is my first time posting and it is inspired by Martin Leroux's recent question concerning the fuselage build. The feedback he got was great and I am hoping for some of the same!

I have a question to those who have built and are now operating a RV-8, or to those who have just completed building their RV-8 Wings.

The Question is: If you had to build another a set of RV-8 Wings, what would you do differently ? Any features you would add to improve the serviceability of your aircraft, and that would be easier to implement while you'd be building the wings? Any other suggestions ?

I have the wing kit and should be starting to work on it in the next week or two. In general I am planning wing tip lights and a heated pitot probe.

Thanks,

Dale Cross
Old 03-01-2017, 12:56 PM

Well, I'm not done, but. I learned by the second wing a better way to rivet the main ribs to the main (front) spar. It was much easier - especially at the closely spaced inner ribs - to lay the main spar face down with the ribs clecoed and pointing up from the bench. Either hang the part you're working on off the end of the bench or prop up on a couple of blocks to get the bucking bar under the front face of the spar. Rivet the wing walk area from inner ribs to the root one at a time to maximize easy access.