VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-8/8A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2017, 03:51 PM
8 Builder 8 Builder is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 47
Default Throttle / mixture cable routing through tower

Please see the attached photo that shows the one inch hole through the rear of the left gear tower in my 1997 RV-8 kit. It was manufactured this way and shows the one hole on the plans. I would like to know how I can increase the size of, or reshape the hole to allow the two control cables to pass through. After looking at various sites that show this, I see many pictures of three holes in the back side of the gear tower that match the holes in the F-864 cable anchor. Did the kit change this in later versions? Worried about structurally harming the tower.

Thanks, Rich

http://i65.tinypic.com/smbtxx.jpg

Last edited by 8 Builder : 02-20-2017 at 03:57 PM. Reason: Added picture
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2017, 07:37 PM
Wunderon's Avatar
Wunderon Wunderon is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Seattle (Edmonds) and Iowa
Posts: 89
Default

What does the forward bulkhead look like? Maybe rivet a doubler to the tower and drill that for straight cable passthrus.

One could ask Van's opinion on rivet spacing, doubler thickness, etc.

Hard to tell the alignment from the photo, they might say it is ok to notch it out instead.
__________________
Dave Grimmer
SB RV8 wiring
EAA 84
paid 2017
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2017, 07:33 AM
8 Builder 8 Builder is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 47
Default

Vans said to make the hole a nice, deburred oval. I have seen the riveted on patch and drill new holes technique on various builders sites. What did you old (kit) RV-8 builders do to the manufactured hole in order to make it possible to pass two cables through it?

Last edited by 8 Builder : 02-21-2017 at 07:36 AM. Reason: grammer
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.