VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 03-01-2017, 01:17 PM
Redbud40 Redbud40 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tx
Posts: 13
Default Rv6 glass panel fit

Has anybody upgraded to a 10inch left 7 inch right setup? Or a two screen 10 inch side by side? Curious as to the fit and where/ and how the other panel components or remote components fit. Thanks.
Mike R
__________________
Mike Robinson
RV-6a N731CK
52F
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2017, 02:02 PM
Ralph Inkster Ralph Inkster is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 287
Default

Vans does sell an oversized panel blank, if more space is needed.
__________________
Ralph
Maintain lots, upgraded & repaired some, modified more, rebuild a few, & built 4 of 'em
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2017, 02:12 PM
cbennet1 cbennet1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redbud40 View Post
Has anybody upgraded to a 10inch left 7 inch right setup? Or a two screen 10 inch side by side? Curious as to the fit and where/ and how the other panel components or remote components fit. Thanks.
Mike R
Take a scroll through the "Show us your panel" Sticky thread. A picture tells you how much space you'll use and what else will fit where better then someone's description.

BTW, I'll be facing the same dilemma when I undertake panel update number 2!!!

Craig
__________________
Craig Bennett
321GT Flying RV6
2017 dues paid, how about you?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2017, 03:11 PM
lr172 lr172 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,309
Default

I just shoe-horned a GRT 10.4" Efis into my stock RTV-6 panel, along with a mini-x (necessary, as I had no more space for my steam backup instruments). It is kind of tight but it works. I can shoot a pic this weekend.

This replaced dynon legacy gear and steam backups

Larry
__________________
N64LR
RV-6A / IO-320, Flying as of 8/2015
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2017, 03:48 PM
RONSIM's Avatar
RONSIM RONSIM is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Largo, FL
Posts: 745
Default Been planning a AFS 5600 10"

It will fit my stock panel without serious issue, but I may go ahead and use the deeper panel, since I already have the blank. I have a Dynon EMS 120 and D10A which I will keep for engine instruments and backup.

I have a pic of my mockup, if you would send me an email, I will send it to you.

Planning on doing my "big buy" after Sun n Fun.

Ron
__________________
RV-10 Co-built (sold)
RV-8A Maintained and flown (Sold)
RV-6A Bought and Flying (N177RV)
IO360, 180HP/CS
Very Happy Contributor
Based at KCLW (Clearwater, FL)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2017, 04:04 PM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 11,347
Default

to answer the original question directly - yes, our RV-6 has a large screen G3X Touch on the left, and the small Touch on the right. The radio stack is in the original position.
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor in Chief - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2017, 04:35 PM
Redbud40 Redbud40 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tx
Posts: 13
Default

Paul, is there a picture of your setup lurking around? I found one but looks like they are older garmins side by side with radios on the right. Thanks.
__________________
Mike Robinson
RV-6a N731CK
52F
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-02-2017, 10:41 AM
219PB 219PB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Victoria, Tx
Posts: 220
Default

I just had Steinair cut a panel out for me. It has two 10" Dynon HDX screens incorporated.

__________________
Paul Bonorden
RV-6A under construction
My Builders Website
Victoria, TX
2017 Dues Gladly Paid
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-02-2017, 12:48 PM
dynonsupport's Avatar
dynonsupport dynonsupport is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 1,491
Default

You can fit (3) 10" screens in an RV-6 if you want:



Our general recommendation is to not put the second screen all the way over on the right. Keep it in the middle. You'll be using it a lot, and it should be close to you. The guy (or gal) in the right seat can see stuff in the middle just fine so you can put the PFD on there when they want to fly, but it's much more optimal for the 99% of the time where it's being flown from the left seat.
__________________
_______________________
Dynon Avionics
support@dynonavionics.com
425-402-0433
www.DynonAvionics.com

Last edited by dynonsupport : 03-02-2017 at 12:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-02-2017, 04:36 PM
Redbud40 Redbud40 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tx
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks everyone now if Dynon or Garmin have an amazing sun n fun sale I'll have to drop the coin.
__________________
Mike Robinson
RV-6a N731CK
52F
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:42 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.