VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 02-21-2017, 10:30 PM
Leadnut Leadnut is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Coeur d Alene
Posts: 19
Default Airspeed Error

Hi everyone, New guy here. Bought a very nicely built RV6 in September and now have the RV grin! One problem though, it does have a significant IAS error. About 10 knots fast at 170kts TAS both AS indicator and has a RMI indicator showing the same error. I did have a static leak inside the plane, fixed that, thought that would be it but only dropped about 3kts. Static is at the pitot-static tube mounted at the typical place under the left wing and extends down the same amount as a fiends RV4 that does give known good indication. I checked the static ports around the pitot, all clear. Thinking this thing might not like the static taken under the wing?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2017, 07:04 AM
rvsxer rvsxer is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Inver Grove Hgts, MN
Posts: 209
Default

Hi and welcome to Van's Air Force! I have a Piper pitot mast on my RV-6 (that was the cheapest option for a heated pitot at the time) and the static source never worked right. I finally installed the plans-specified static ports and my airspeed is within 1% now.
__________________
Mike Hilger
RV-6 N207AM w/G3X, 1,400 hours +
South St. Paul, MN (KSGS)
Senior Tech - Panel Design, SteinAir, Inc.
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor

We're all here because we're not all there...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-22-2017, 08:35 AM
snopercod's Avatar
snopercod snopercod is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 526
Default I added dams in front of static ports

I had the same problem when I first started flying my Lancair 235. On my first landing, I floated a full 4,000'! To solve the problem, I added little "dams" in front of the static ports (I have one on each side). Now, from flying wind triangles at various speeds, my ASI appears to be right on between 80 KIAS and 140 KIAS. YMMV.

__________________
(2017 dues paid)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-22-2017, 10:13 AM
JonJay's Avatar
JonJay JonJay is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Battleground
Posts: 3,455
Default

Common problem whereby I have never heard of a location that worked as well as following the plans and putting them on the side in the location specified. Also, as silly as folks sometimes think the pop rivet (as per plans) isn't "robust or professional enough" it works very well. The shape of the pop rivet head is part of the recipe. There have been lots of
problems reported when deviating from the plans here, especially location.
__________________
Smart People do Stupid things all the time. I know, I've seen me do'em.

RV6 - Builder/Flying
Bucker Jungmann
Fiat G.46 -(restoration in progress, if I have enough life left in me)
RV1 - Proud Pilot.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2017, 09:22 PM
Leadnut Leadnut is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Coeur d Alene
Posts: 19
Default

Thanks for the help everyone. Next annual I'll try it at Vans location and the pop rivet. See how that goes. It's close at low speeds so it can wait a couple months.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:09 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.