What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

opinions on upgrading from cherokee to RV

oldrockfan

New to the forum and considering upgrading from my current Cherokee 140 to a faster plane. I've looked at the usual options such as the mooney, arrow but have had multiple people suggest I look at the RVs as a cost effective alternative.

I'm a low time pilot (less than 100 hrs). I've had my ppl just over a year and most of my time is in my personal Cherokee 140. I do have 12 hours in cessnas. I use the plane for a mix of business travel 200-400 mile trips and pleasure flying with the wife. It would be fun to be able to fly with 4 onboard but realistically... 95% of my flying is either solo business travel or with the wife.

We own our current plane and are planning on selling it and adding money to upgrade to something faster. A big factor for us is ongoing cost and we would like to keep that low so we can justify more flying time.

So now with that background... the question is can a low time pilot handle the jump from a Cherokee 140 to an RV? Which one do you think would be the best option for someone like me? Oh I guess budget would help. We are looking at spending 40-60k so not a huge budget to work with. Just my basic research it looks like the RV6A, RV7A or RV9A would be my best bets with the 6A being cheapest and 7A being most expensive. I'm fine with fixed prop/0320 engine since those seem to sell cheaper and still offer a great speed bump from my current Cherokee. I'd welcome any suggestions/advice.

Welcome to VAF. You'll find a lot of similar requests and replies in the archives, but the bottom line is that none of these planes are a quantum leap in terms of the required skills. There are a lot of folks who have actually built first and then learned to fly and a lot who were low-time Cessna/Piper pilots when they bought or built an RV.