What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New RV-7 Kit Owner with Riveting Question (no pun intended)

I just purchased an unfinished RV7 kit and am busy organizing/inventoring it. I've previously built (and own) a Kolb Mark III, but am new to the RV world. I have very little solid riveting experience, and my first job will be to complete the rudder so I'm looking for advice on best way to back rivet the stiffeners onto the rudder skin. What kind of tape are folks using? Do I need to get the tape that Van's suggests or are there alternatives? Any tips on back riveting technicque would be greatly appreciated.

Mark Rinehart

Practice, practice, practice, on scrap. You will need less air pressure when back riveting. Also find a way to make sure you don't keep riveting past the back plate and ruin a skin. I used the tape they recommended at first but when it ran out I just used blue painter's tape with no issues. Make sure the pieces are flat against the back rivet plate, and press down FIRMLY. Have fun!

Also, a lot of people suggest sealing the stiffeners in place as well, as some people develop cracks in the rudder skin near the stiffener ends, possibly from flexing. I didn't do it but too early to tell what will happen.

Chris

Last edited:
you can buy the tape from ACS or try electrical tape, that's what I used, try on a sample first and see if you like the results.

In my experience with aileron stiffeners, and way back on Dad's -6, you can use regular clear packing or scotch tape. I also found that using -3 rivets made much better shop heads than the -3.5s called out on the plans. The longer ones kept folding over.

Thirdly, I found that typically I get better results when not back-riveting; the control surfaces are too thin for that to be practical.

Hi Mark,