VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-12
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-2012, 07:21 PM
woodsideraff woodsideraff is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 121
Default Skyview autopilot caution

I get a continuous "caution" audible announcement when I engage the roll axis. Found out it is related to the autopilot disconnect setting in the software. The autopilot, including the disconnect function, works fine. When the disconnect monitoring feature is turned off, the A/P works fine with no caution alert. Furthermore, I get only sporadic indication of the caution alert on the display.

I talked to Dynon and they suspect an intermittent connection in the disconnect line. Has anyone experienced this situation?

Regards,

Rafael
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2012, 08:09 PM
Mich48041 Mich48041 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Riley TWP MI
Posts: 2,496
Default

I had the same problem with the Dynon D-180 and suspect a bug in their software. I disabled monitoring of the AP disconnect switch circuit.
Joe Gores
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2012, 08:21 PM
ScottSchmidt's Avatar
ScottSchmidt ScottSchmidt is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 1,118
Default Same here

I had the same issue on the Skyview.
It was an intermediate "autopilot disconnect" caution.
I looked at the screen that shows when the disconnect button was pushed and everything looked good there. I even disconnected the button and nothing changed. So I turned off the autopilot disconnect monitoring function and all is good.
I still need to talk with Dynon to see why it is doing it.
__________________
Scott Schmidt
Salt Lake City, UT

RV-10 N104XP (1150 Hours)
RV-12 N321UT (Sold)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2012, 09:10 AM
ScottSchmidt's Avatar
ScottSchmidt ScottSchmidt is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 1,118
Default Needs a resistor

I missed this on the autopilot disconnect. Looks like if you want it to monitor it you need to add a resistor.
Or, you can just disable the function and if it does break, you can turn off the autopilot or pull the breaker.

__________________
Scott Schmidt
Salt Lake City, UT

RV-10 N104XP (1150 Hours)
RV-12 N321UT (Sold)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2012, 10:33 AM
rvbuilder2002 rvbuilder2002 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hubbard Oregon
Posts: 6,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottSchmidt View Post
I missed this on the autopilot disconnect. Looks like if you want it to monitor it you need to add a resistor.
I am pretty sure the resistor is incorporated into the AV-50000, so in the case where the disconnect button seems to be working, warnings would indicate an actual intermintent wiring issue.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2012, 02:07 PM
ScottSchmidt's Avatar
ScottSchmidt ScottSchmidt is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 1,118
Default Hmmmm

I will look into more but currently the caution goes on and off ever 1/4 - 1/2 a second (with the monitor feature on). When I look at the screen that shows the status of the button, it is solid. It shows open when not pushed and closed when pushed. No intermediate behavior. When I completely disconnect the wires it still has the caution at the same frequency as connected.
If the resistor is on one side of the wire, would it matter if the wires near the switch were reversed? I could have easily done that. I don't think it would.

I would like to know if there are any others that are experiencing the same thing.
Turn the "monitor autopilot disconnect" on in the autopilot settings, then turn the autopilot on in the hangar and see if you see a flashing caution.
__________________
Scott Schmidt
Salt Lake City, UT

RV-10 N104XP (1150 Hours)
RV-12 N321UT (Sold)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-25-2014, 11:02 PM
McSteff McSteff is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 16
Default Skyview autopilot caution

Just wanted to pick up this old thread again as I experienced the same problem over the last few test flights. Will try the proposed fix next time I go to the aircraft.

Any other suggestions as to why the caution alert goes off when AP is engaged?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-26-2014, 03:02 AM
J.Coles J.Coles is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Posts: 96
Default

I had continuous caution warnings when I operated the auto pilot.

I emailed Dynon and was told to change 'Enable broken line detect' to No.

That fixed my problems. Not sure if it will help here.

Cheers

Julian 120316
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-20-2017, 09:14 PM
John-G John-G is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 442
Default

Resurrecting this old thread … for I too have been experiencing the “autopilot disconnect broken” warning message on the SkyView. Although I do not have a solution beyond what has been previously suggested, I did take some ohm readings to share. The warning message first appeared late November of last year … but seemingly went away after a SkyView reboot. I got the message again two weeks ago and now the “autopilot disconnect broken” warning message is constant ... unless, as mentioned by others, the AP is engaged. As a side note, the AP button on the AP Panel module, the panel mounted AP disconnect button and the pilot & co-pilot stick mounted disconnect switches all work just fine to engage/disengage the autopilot … so the wiring IS NOT intermittent.

I called Dynon about this and was told the issue is likely that my AP Panel module has a problem … so Dynon sent out a replacement. Over the weekend, I installed the replacement AP Panel module and sadly … it too does the same thing. So I reinstalled my original AP Panel module. As others have done, I just decided to get into the autopilot menu settings and selected NO for “enable broken line detect “… problem solved.

While I was at it, I decided to do a little troubleshooting of the wiring to share my results here. One of the earlier posts in this thread mentions a resistor should be used on the AP disconnect wire. Looking at the RV-12 wiring schematic, I noticed there is a 5K resistor mounted on the AV-50000A control module that goes to pin 15 of the Autopilot connector on the control module. Measured 5K at pin 15 to ground, so the resistor/internal wiring on the control module is good. The ground for the AP disconnect switch is obtained from pin 37 of the autopilot connector ... measured it and it is a solid ground.

Next, I pulled the Options connector off the control module to make sure the Y on the AP disconnect wiring was good. The other side of the Y goes to pin 9 on the Autopilot connector and is called AP Data I. The AP Data I circuit routes through the control module to pin 2 of the Options connector. If the Y and the interconnection through the control module is good, one should read around 5K from pin 2 in the Options connector on the control module to ground. I read 4.99K so there is complete continuity through the wiring. The only thing left to measure was the resistance of the AP Data I wire running from pin 2 on the Options connector to the Y, which then feeds both the roll and pitch servos. I left both the servos connected and made a ohm measurement from pin 2 on the Options connector to ground and got a reading of 25K ohms …. There must be a capacitor in the circuit because the reading started out much lower and slowly increased to the 25K ohm value …. it may actually have ended up higher, but I lost patience at 25K. Don’t know what value to expect here, but guessing this is a reasonable value.

I suspect the root of the problem resides inside the actual servos and how they report back to the SkyView. Admittedly, I did not remove any access panels to check the connectors at the servos … but since both servos engage and disconnect just fine when the buttons are pushed, the servos are obviously seeing the ground applied to the AP Data I wire running to them.
__________________
John
www.dogaviation.com
RV-12 Wings, Empennage, Fuselage, Finishing, Avionics and Powerplant kits all completed
Now Flying!!

Dues paid until September 2018

Last edited by John-G : 08-20-2017 at 09:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-20-2017, 09:32 PM
alexe alexe is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 215
Default

You are not alone John. I went through the same steps as you had, only to disable the monitoring of the disconnect switch to fix it. I suspect Dynon has a firmware problem causing the issue, but they don't seem interested in stepping up to fixing it. Since the 5K resistor is located in the AV5000, it does not really ensure the continuity of the wire all the way to the disconnects switch anyway. It's kind of worthless in our case.
Alex
__________________
Alex Erdelyi
RV-12 #120758, N912AE
Flying as of 4/28/15
Paid through September, 2017
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:31 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.