VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 09-06-2017, 11:53 AM
8317R 8317R is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Collinsville,OK
Posts: 24
Default RV6 Electric Flap Motor

My RV6 flap system was manufactured in the early 2000's. Since 09 when it was licensed I get about 3 doz cycles before the motor quits. Yes, we land with no flaps, adds a little excitement. Take the motor apart, clean the brushes and commutator and it is good for another 3 doz cycles. Does anyone have a fix for this other than replace the motor. The original manufacture of the motor does not support this model anymore and only wants to sell me a new motor.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-06-2017, 12:11 PM
JonJay's Avatar
JonJay JonJay is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Battleground
Posts: 3,635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8317R View Post
My RV6 flap system was manufactured in the early 2000's. Since 09 when it was licensed I get about 3 doz cycles before the motor quits. Yes, we land with no flaps, adds a little excitement. Take the motor apart, clean the brushes and commutator and it is good for another 3 doz cycles. Does anyone have a fix for this other than replace the motor. The original manufacture of the motor does not support this model anymore and only wants to sell me a new motor.
There was a time when the flap motor assembly was manufactured with too much grease. That grease migrates and fouls the motor. Removing the excess grease usually fixes this issue.
__________________
Smart People do Stupid things all the time. I know, I've seen me do'em.

RV6 - Builder/Flying
Bucker Jungmann
Fiat G.46 -(restoration in progress, if I have enough life left in me)
RV1 - Proud Pilot.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-06-2017, 12:32 PM
bhester's Avatar
bhester bhester is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hopkinsville, KY
Posts: 789
Thumbs up Get a new one

Mine did that a number of time, I took it apart and cleaned it a number of times, then I ordered a new one. It came full of grease. I cleaned it real good before installing it and it has worked great ever since.

No matter how good I cleaned the first one it keep doing it.
__________________
Bobby Hester - Builder/Pilot/A&P
Surfing the web from Hopkinsville, KY
N857BH RV7A XP-O360 - Garmin G3X ADS-B IN/OUT 2020 Compliant
Web site: http://www.newtech.com/bobbyhester/RVSite.htm
Dec. 2016 VAF donator - alot better than any magazine subscription
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-06-2017, 10:56 PM
lr172 lr172 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 2,415
Default

My flap motor was shipped in '00. Based upon all of the comments here, I fully disassembled the gear section of the unit and cleaned it. I left only what I felt was an appropriate amount of grease (far less than the guy/gal at the factory felt was appropriate). 400 hours without a problem.

When you cleaned the motor, did it have signs of grease? If so, take apart the gear section and remove all of the excess as well as degreasing the entire motor and it's housing.

Larry
__________________
N64LR
RV-6A / IO-320, Flying as of 8/2015

Last edited by lr172 : 09-06-2017 at 10:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:48 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.