VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-12
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-21-2017, 02:42 PM
f1rocket's Avatar
f1rocket f1rocket is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Martinsville, IN
Posts: 2,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony_T View Post
Terry,
I don't doubt the manual pages that you quote, although I can't find them in either the User Guide or Installation Guide. I'm sure some compromises are done when both terrain and weather are shown, but I wouldn't say that the terrain washes out when weather is enabled.
I agree. I always flew with both enabled all the time.
__________________
Randy Pflanzer
Martinsville, IN (II87)

www.pflanzer-aviation.com
Paid through 2043!
Lund fishing Boat, 2017, GONE FISHING
RV-12 - Completed 2014, Sold
427 Shelby Cobra - Completed 2012, Sold
F1 EVO - partially completed, Sold
F1 Rocket - Completed 2005, Sold
RV-7A - Partially completed, Sold
RV-6 - Completed 2000, Sold
Long-EZ - Completed 1987, Sold

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-22-2017, 02:30 AM
dbhill916 dbhill916 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony_T View Post
WEATHER should be an option on the LAYERS menu as well as TERRAIN. ...... but WEATHER should an option if the ADSB 470 is working properly.

On the map, ADSB status will show NEXRAD wx status in the bottom left corner and ADSB traffic in the right bottom corner. The transponder can show TIS traffic and TIS would show in the bottom right corner if ADSB is not working. The traffic you see could be just TIS and not ADSB.
Tony, thanks for 2 tidbits of useful info. I now believe that the 470 is not functioning properly. I've never seen the ADS-B or NEXRAD databoxes, only a TIS OK display in the bottom right. I'll see if I can find any info on debugging the 470, or maybe buying the newer 472.

thanks,
-dbh
__________________
David B. Hill
N76012
RV-120760
http://n76012.blogspot.com
Dues paid through 6-2018
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-22-2017, 08:30 AM
Tony_T's Avatar
Tony_T Tony_T is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,171
Default

I would hold off on the 472. That box has issues that Dynon is working on and, in fact, I don't think they are shipping it anyway right now.

Is it possible you have not configured a serial port for the 470? Van's default software loaded on the SV does not include a serial port setup for the ADSB 470 and you have to do it. Here's how:


Pick a serial port not occupied. The 470 should appear as an option, choose it and it should configure. Mine is on serial port 2:


Hopefully, this will get it working. If not, check the d-sub connections for pushed pins, etc.
__________________
Tony
RV-12 #202 -- Flying

Last edited by Tony_T : 08-22-2017 at 10:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-25-2017, 04:03 PM
dbhill916 dbhill916 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 115
Default identified my assumption

looks like several of you identified the issue. I was indeed assuming that TIS data came in the ADSB path, so it "had to be working." Now I know that TIS is via the transponder and I've had no ADSB at all. I'll get out there tomorrow (fingers crossed) and see about setting the serial port. Stay tuned.
__________________
David B. Hill
N76012
RV-120760
http://n76012.blogspot.com
Dues paid through 6-2018
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-26-2017, 06:46 AM
John-G John-G is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 454
Default

David,

My first ADSB-470 box did not work either. When looking at the settings for Port 2 (or whatever port yours is attached to) you should be seeing BOTH the Rx and Tx counters increment … mine were not. If I remember correctly, the Tx counter would increment but the Rx counter did not.

To help isolate the problem to the 470 box Dynon had me pull the connector off the back of the 470 box and loop the two serial pins for Rx and Tx to one another. Next the serial port device was temporarily changed from ADSB-470 to NMEA. After making the loop back and changing the port device to NMEA you should see the Tx and Rx counters increment …. this is because as the port is polled, the transmit data packet is looped back to the receive on the SkyView. If both counters do increment, then the serial port hardware on the SkyView is good and the issue is either the power wiring to the ASDB-470 or the box itself.

John
__________________
John
www.dogaviation.com
RV-12 Wings, Empennage, Fuselage, Finishing, Avionics and Powerplant kits all completed
Now Flying!!

Dues paid until September 2018

Last edited by John-G : 08-26-2017 at 08:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-27-2017, 06:56 AM
dbhill916 dbhill916 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 115
Thumbs up RTFM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbhill916 View Post
looks like several of you identified the issue. I was indeed assuming that TIS data came in the ADSB path, so it "had to be working." Now I know that TIS is via the transponder and I've had no ADSB at all. I'll get out there tomorrow (fingers crossed) and see about setting the serial port. Stay tuned.
Yep. As is so often the case with this airplane, if something's not right, just go back and read the friendly manual again. I had neglected to configure Port 2 to ADSB-470 due to my mistaken assumption that the presence of TIS data implied that that had already been done with the factory preset file. I did the configuration and Viola!I have weather and radar data. (Not that I do any RV-12 flying if the weather isn't severe VMC).

Thanks to all who contributed,
-dbh
__________________
David B. Hill
N76012
RV-120760
http://n76012.blogspot.com
Dues paid through 6-2018
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-27-2017, 08:54 AM
Tony_T's Avatar
Tony_T Tony_T is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,171
Default

Thanks for the feedback! It's good to report what worked; it could be helpful to someone else who has the problem.
__________________
Tony
RV-12 #202 -- Flying
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:40 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.