What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Capacative fuel gauge senders.......... Huh ?

I'm still a builder, and not yet a pilot (saving that for the last year of the build).

Anyway, in finishing up the prep work on the fuel tanks I see this note that says, "If you plan to use the capacative fuel tank senders offered in the accessories catalog, you should do that now".

Problem is, I don't know what that is (I mean, I have an idea, but not if I NEED it or not), and second, I can NOT find this in any keyword on the catalog.

So, DO I need it? And if I do, how to find it on the catalog ?

Appreciate the help

With a capacitive sender, you build a capacitor (think two parallel plates) into the tanks. The tank is one plate, you build the second ‘plate’ into the tank. As the space between them is filled with fuel, the dielectric constant changes, so the capacitance changes. You calibrate the capacitance vs the amount of fuel. Properly done, they are very accurate.
No you don’t need one. The stock float gauges, calibrated thru an EFIS, are quite accurate except they can’t see the top 5 gallons. And, for good engine management, you also really want a fuel flow gauge. They can tell you how much gas is left to very good accuracy.

Edit. Think about speeding up the Private pilot rating. Things change with time, but today, if you approached an insurance company with typical 1 year’s experience for insuring a 10, be prepared for sticker shock.

Last edited:
With a capacitive sender, you build a capacitor (think two parallel plates) into the tanks. The tank is one plate, you build the second ?plate? into the tank. As the space between them is filled with fuel, the dielectric constant changes, so the capacitance changes. You calibrate the capacitance vs the amount of fuel. Properly done, they are very accurate.