What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Segway Ninebot for RV transportation

flightlogic

Well Known Member
Patron
Starting a new thread regarding take along transportation for the RV's.
The cell phone folks in China have purchased the rights to Segway and now market the Ninebot mini pro. It is hitting the mainstream due to features and more importantly a realistic price point around $600.
Timing has been unfortunate due to the fire history with the skateboard looking lithium powered hoverboards. They have been mis-identified by the public and adoption is lagging when it comes to the mini pro.
Back to the Ninebot--- It is UL tested and not likely to cause any fire hazard.
For RV owners, I think they will catch on. I have been testing one for 6 months and carry it in a rolling duffle bag in the baggage compartment.
For those hesitant to ride due to balance or mobility issues, they are relatively stable. A handle can be added for those who don't like to rely solely on knee steering. I have yet to take a spill or get out a bandage. And I am considered a senior citizen. I learned on the Segway X2 offroad machines and think they are a hoot out in the woods. The price point was the big hurdle from the day they were released by Dean Kamen.
I suggest watching some youtube videos of the Ninebot mini pro and giving it some consideration. I can land in Ramona, CA where there are no taxi cabs and ride all the way into town to the hotel. Charge it up and I am ready to find dinner and also head back to the airport in the morning. 25 pounds with a quick release removable upper section and it packs in the 9A with ease.
I pack for short trips with a backpack rather than roll aboard... to facilitate the Segway riding. It does not seem to affect my balance at all.
Thanks for enduring the long post. Good luck with your alternatives to folding bikes and unicycles.