What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Help with HS00003 Edge Distance

Jonnyb

Well Known Member
Hoping some one can help or offer reassurance.

I’m just starting out building an RV-8, and am having some issues surrounding edge distance on the HS-00003 Spar Doubler.

So standard edge distance is 2x the diameter of the rivet.

I have measured out the attach holes for the HS-702, HS-814-1 HS-810-1, HS-00003, and the HS-00005 as per Detail DD on drawing 3. However this has bought me up short on edge distance. On a previous matter with edge distance in this area Vans pointed me towards the edge distance called out in the SB (SB14-01-31) specifically page 21, and it states “The minimum allowable spar doubler edge distance is shown in Figure 14” Figure 14 shows the distance as 5/32”

The problem I have is that figure 14 is talking about the outboard most hole of the doubler, and my issue is the top attach hole for all the parts stated above.

Now I have more than the 5/32” stated in the SB but not the 1/4” standard. I would email Vans but they are all at EAA until 7/31, so I thought I would throw it out to you guys to see what you think?

What I should say is that my spar doubler, with all the holes drilled, looks exactly like the spar doubler on page 21 of the SB.

Last edited:
Photos

Photos of the parts/plans will get you a much quicker reply. Sorry. If you have 5/32" per Vans, you're good.

Last edited:
The 2D edge distance is a conservative rule of thumb.

The minimum edge distance which Van's generally uses is 0.156" (5/32"), taken from MIL-R-47196A Table VIII. A cleaned-up copy of this spec is available on Van's web site.

That doubler has caused grief to a few people, me included.

Pictures

I hope I have got this!

Here’s the page of the SB:
563-B318-E-61-B2-42-D6-947-D-E54-E87-CFD62-E.png

And here’s my edge distance issue. It’s the top hole of the ones circled in red: