VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Old 04-24-2018, 01:20 PM

Default Aerosport Rudder Trim

I just completed the condition inspection on my RV-9A.

I usually do an improvement project or two as part of the condition inspection, and this year, since I finally got the plane painted I wanted to add a rudder trim (rather than the trim tab I forgot to get painted).

I ordered the Aerosport Products trim tab. One of my neighbors, had just installed one on his RV-10 and loved it.

After I didn't receive it for a week or so I called Aerosport power to check on the status. They said, the were in the process of redesigning the unit and using a 3D printer rather than machining the assembly, and asked if I would be willing to try out the new version.

I have some experience with 3D printers, and I was a bit skeptical of the strength of the printed parts, but I figured why not, lets give it a try.

I have to say I'm impressed with the strength and quality of the parts. They are printed using a nylon process, and while I didn't attempt to break the anything, they have a significantly stronger feel than the ABS printed parts I have done.

The install was a bit of a pain (mostly the crawling under the panel of my RV-9A), but straightforward enough and didn't take very long.

Overall, I'm quite please with the update, and continue to be amazed by what the 3D printing technology is doing.

-Dan
Old 04-24-2018, 02:15 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dweyant View Post
After I didn't receive it for a week or so I called Aerosport power to check on the status. They said, the were in the process of redesigning the unit and using a 3D printer rather than machining the assembly, and asked if I would be willing to try out the new version.