VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 10-28-2017, 05:25 PM
Brockster Brockster is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Lockport, NY
Posts: 108
Default Dynon D6 and Remote Compass Problem

Dynon has been very helpful in trying to resolve this issue though a cause for my problem has not been determined. I have a D6 with remote compass installed in my left wing tip with SafeAir mount. I had been flying for several years and the heading indicator on the D6 worked fine and was accurate within a couple degrees. Since I now had access to a compass rose I decided to calibrate it. The first few calibrations the D6 gave a warning that the data was not reliable. On the 3rd try this warning had disappeared and when I finished the heading would not function correctly and not give the proper heading. I first sent just the remote compass and then both the D6 and the remote compass back to Dynon per there instruction. They could not find any problem with either unit either time. The internal compass of the D6 works but is not very accurate. The compass rose I am using is set for magnetic north and my whiskey compass verifies it is accurate. I had the proper inclination and intensity programmed into the D6 per Dynon. Dynon calibrated my system and sent it back to me. The D6 recognizes the remote compass as when I disconnect it there is a warning that remote compass not installed. Each time when I power up the EFIS with the remote compass connected the heading reads correctly for what ever direction it is facing. If I move the plane with a tow bar the heading never moves and stays on the heading it was at when powered up. If I start the engine and say taxi in left hand circles the heading indicator will move but will not read below 84 degrees or higher than 210. When making a left turn in the direction lower than 84 degrees the heading indicator begins moving in the opposite direction. I have verified that the nutplates, SafeAir stainless mount screws or the aileron counter weight are not interfering magnetically. The Sub D9 connector at the remote compass is wired correctly. I still need to verify wiring from D6 just to be sure though doubt this is the problem as the D6 recognizes the compass. I also have another EDC-10A coming from a friend just to see if that makes any difference. Looking for any other ideas as this has many stumped. All other functions of the D6 work correctly.
__________________
Paul Dannebrock
RV-9A, Flying
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2017, 03:56 PM
Brockster Brockster is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Lockport, NY
Posts: 108
Default Follow up to Compass Problem

Checked continuity, resistance and for any shorts from wire to wire or wire to shield of 4 conductor cable from Dynon D6 to EDC-10A. All checked good. Voltage at EDC-10A was 16.9vdc which is correct per Dynon. Installed borrowed, brand new, EDC-10A and same problem persisted. Replaced female sub pins on both ends of cable which didn't help. Removed cable from wing root to wing tip and reconnected EDC-10A and problem continued. Removed entire cable and inspected for any signs of problems and none found. Used Belden Data cable to make up test harness from D6 to EDC-10A. Heading indicator worked perfect. Something is wrong with original cable. What could be wrong with this cable to cause the above condition that I have not already checked for? I have ordered parts to fabricate new cable and will verify operation before installing in aircraft.

This wiring with the associated unit has been installed in the plane and flying since spring of 2013. The route of the cable was from behind the panel down along the side longeron, then down the side of the fuselage under the cap for the spar carry through side supports, through the spar carry thru, out through the side wall by the aileron torque tube and then through the wing. All bends were gentle and smooth with no kinks. Could too many bends be an issue except that it worked for 4 years.
__________________
Paul Dannebrock
RV-9A, Flying

Last edited by Brockster : 11-06-2017 at 11:32 AM. Reason: Added routing of cable
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2017, 08:32 PM
Brockster Brockster is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Lockport, NY
Posts: 108
Default Need help, Remote Compass Problem

I'm hoping someone out there can read through my two previous posts and possibly provide some direction as to what is causing this. I replaced the cable and connectors using the same route from the D6 to the remote compass out on the left wing tip. I still have exactly the same problem. The heading on the D6 operates correctly when I use a test cable that is run outside the aircraft structure. I only have the problem when a cable is ran through the structure. Could anyone explain why this might be. Nothing else in the plane is on except the EI engine instruments.

Thank you.
__________________
Paul Dannebrock
RV-9A, Flying
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2017, 09:01 PM
F1R F1R is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ____
Posts: 618
Default

With any D6 or D10A I simply delete the heading box and remove the magnetometer and related wiring. Life is much simpler without the calibration and mounting and wiring headaches.

G5 will display GPS track (in degrees magnetic) with no magnetometer, as does a GRT Mini X and so does the MGL extreme. The GRT Mini X provides mapping features as a bonus, and will also send data WITH heading to a HUD Head Up Display. All of that for less than the D6, well perhaps about the same cost with more features.

I still keep a SIRS TSO'd compass in the ship but mag track is all I really care about. Any X95 or X96 will do that for you

Good luck!

Last edited by F1R : 11-14-2017 at 09:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2017, 06:42 AM
snopercod's Avatar
snopercod snopercod is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,386
Default shield ground?

Since the unit works with an external cable, the problem has to be with the cable in the ship. Is it possible that the outer insulation on the shielded cable has worn through somewhere and the shield is touching the metal of the airframe, causing a ground loop? You could disconnect both ends of the cable and check the resistance from the shield ground to the airframe. Maybe you've already done that...
__________________
(2018 dues paid)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2017, 10:20 AM
F1R F1R is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ____
Posts: 618
Default

IIRC some of the avionics companies only want one end of the ground sheath grounded. Double check the detailed instructions and then try grounding the external ground sheath at the EFIS end, or only at the magnetometer end and test the results both ways.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-15-2017, 11:09 AM
Brockster Brockster is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Lockport, NY
Posts: 108
Default

Thank you for the replies.

The shield was only connected at EFIS end. Shield not shorted to air frame anywhere.

I did replace the original cable with new of same type purchased from spruce.

My personal thought is now that nothing was wrong with original cable. The test cable I used outside of the air frame wasn't shielded and heading worked perfectly.

If need be how do I turn off heading indicator so it doesn't show on screen until I get this figured out?
__________________
Paul Dannebrock
RV-9A, Flying
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-15-2017, 11:21 AM
scottmillhouse's Avatar
scottmillhouse scottmillhouse is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 231
Default

I'm sure you checked it but verify all pins are in the correct position on both ends. In my old plane I had a similar problem with first Dynon setup. I tried everything and finally was testing continuity with a 20' wire from pin to pin from the Dynon end and the mag end. Turns out the premade harness had one pin that should be providing the mag a ground was to an open slot and I guess ground was seeking from the mag through the airframe through the painted mounts. I assume the grounding was poor and intermittent. Moving the pin fixed everything.
__________________
Scott- 2018 dues paid
Got medical back, now building a 7A; N579RV reserved, new engine installed, doing FWF, instruments & finish painting.
RV-12 #120515, N319RV 1st flight 12/2015 now over 270 hours.
RV-9A, 536 hours sold, RV-7 sold, Kitfox sold
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-15-2017, 11:58 AM
F1R F1R is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ____
Posts: 618
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brockster View Post
Thank you for the replies.

If need be how do I turn off heading indicator so it doesn't show on screen until I get this figured out?
It is in some of the set up button options- likely on the same page you can select the magnetometer calibration. Heading display On or Off
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-15-2017, 01:56 PM
Raymo's Avatar
Raymo Raymo is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Richmond Hill, GA (KLHW)
Posts: 1,772
Default

Are the magnetometer wires running near other wires (e.g. heated pitot) that might be inducing a magnetic field?
__________________
Ray
RV-7A - Slider - N495KL - First flt 27 Jan 17
O-360-A4M w/ AFP FM-150 FI, 1 PMag, Vetterman Trombone Exh, SkyTech starter, PlanePower Alt
Catto 3 blade NLE, FlightLines Interior, James cowl, plenum & intake, Anti-Splat -14 seat mod and nose gear support
All lines by TSFlightLines
NSDQ

"The object of the game, gentlemen, is not to cheat death: the object is not to let him play."
Patrick Poteen, Sgt. U.S. Army
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:00 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.