VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 05-07-2017, 08:03 PM
spatsch spatsch is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 185
Default Odd POTUS TFR on Dynon Skyview

As I was flying today the POTUS TFR looked quite odd. Here a picture of when I was heading back into it:



See the triangle in the middle which is not colored red. Looked like that all day long. It's clearly wrong as the TFR was it's usual 30 mile circle. Wonder if that is a Dynon or ADS-B issue. Either way I guess it can not be trusted... .

Oliver
__________________
Oliver Spatscheck
RV-8 & J-3
N-2EQ & NC-49762
http://www.spatscheck.com/oliver
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-07-2017, 08:20 PM
Vlad's Avatar
Vlad Vlad is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,499
Default

You were flying lucky you. My airport NOTAMed closed for 4 days.
__________________
Where is N666BK?

Не имей сто рублей, а имей сто друзей.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2017, 09:22 AM
spatsch spatsch is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vlad View Post
You were flying lucky you. My airport NOTAMed closed for 4 days.
And I thought your Russian connections would help

More seriously this is going to be painful the next couple of years. From what I hear he will be here all summer. This shuts down 2 airports completely as well as one of the larger glider clubs which has been operating since 1929 on the weekend.... . My J3 is NORAD so that one is grounded and my APA is closed too when I need it... . Guess nobody cares... .

Oliver
__________________
Oliver Spatscheck
RV-8 & J-3
N-2EQ & NC-49762
http://www.spatscheck.com/oliver
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-08-2017, 12:22 PM
lr172 lr172 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Posts: 3,279
Default

I feel for you guys, but glad this president lived somewhere other than Chicago. I was getting sick of the POTUS TFRs. In case you don't know this, there are usually an inner ring and outer ring. In the outer ring, you can typically depart or arrive your airport as long as you have an assigned sqwack code and are talking to ATC. I would phonel the local ATC facility to get a code on the ground and just call up approach on arrival before entering the TFR; They are familiar with the drill. There are some other limits, such as no training and ingress/egress only through the TFR, but this worked for me several times. If I remember correctly, you need a flight plan filed, but VFR is acceptable. The text of the TFRs on the FAA website have all of the details.

Larry
__________________
N64LR
RV-6A / IO-320, Flying as of 8/2015
RV-10 in progress

Last edited by lr172 : 05-08-2017 at 12:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-08-2017, 01:38 PM
spatsch spatsch is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lr172 View Post
I feel for you guys, but glad this president lived somewhere other than Chicago. I was getting sick of the POTUS TFRs. In case you don't know this, there are usually an inner ring and outer ring. In the outer ring, you can typically depart or arrive your airport as long as you have an assigned sqwack code and are talking to ATC. I would phonel the local ATC facility to get a code on the ground and just call up approach on arrival before entering the TFR; They are familiar with the drill. There are some other limits, such as no training and ingress/egress only through the TFR, but this worked for me several times. If I remember correctly, you need a flight plan filed, but VFR is acceptable. The text of the TFRs on the FAA website have all of the details.

Larry
Yes that's what I did Sunday with my RV-8 and got the odd Dynon display. Unfortunately Vlad is in the inner ring and NORAD, glider and acrobatics are all prohibited in both rings... .

Oliver
__________________
Oliver Spatscheck
RV-8 & J-3
N-2EQ & NC-49762
http://www.spatscheck.com/oliver
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-08-2017, 02:07 PM
David Paule David Paule is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 3,589
Default

Would a handheld comm be of any use? Or would a plane still need a transponder?

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-08-2017, 02:49 PM
spatsch spatsch is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Paule View Post
Would a handheld comm be of any use? Or would a plane still need a transponder?

Dave
You need a transponder with assigned code.

Oliver
__________________
Oliver Spatscheck
RV-8 & J-3
N-2EQ & NC-49762
http://www.spatscheck.com/oliver
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-08-2017, 02:53 PM
Vlad's Avatar
Vlad Vlad is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Paule View Post
Would a handheld comm be of any use? Or would a plane still need a transponder?

Dave
We are under the veil Dave. So yes


__________________
Where is N666BK?

Не имей сто рублей, а имей сто друзей.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-08-2017, 03:48 PM
RV7A Flyer's Avatar
RV7A Flyer RV7A Flyer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: US
Posts: 1,648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spatsch View Post
And I thought your Russian connections would help

More seriously this is going to be painful the next couple of years. From what I hear he will be here all summer. This shuts down 2 airports completely as well as one of the larger glider clubs which has been operating since 1929 on the weekend.... . My J3 is NORAD so that one is grounded and my APA is closed too when I need it... . Guess nobody cares... .

Oliver
You'll b fine

Last edited by N395V : 05-09-2017 at 02:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-08-2017, 05:16 PM
dynonsupport's Avatar
dynonsupport dynonsupport is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 1,493
Default

Oliver,
If you have a datalog for that flight (a "Dynon Diagnostic Log") we can look at it and see if the FAA sent something odd or if we interpreted it incorrectly.

The data would be in there as long as you haven't flown more than an hour since you last saw this.
__________________
_______________________
Dynon Avionics
support@dynonavionics.com
425-402-0433
www.DynonAvionics.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.