What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Anyone using the Lasar Electronic ignition

aussieflyer1

Well Known Member
Looking for feedback on the Lasar, I know they don't make it anymore but I bought it with the kit. Just looking for what results in fuel savings, engine starts,etc. How many hours have you operated this system before you had issues.

Thanks for your advice.

LASAR

I have been flying with LASAR for 6 years now. It is a very good improvement over just mags. It causes about a gallon per hour reduction in fuel consumpiton.
It makes starting instant. It causes the engine to put out more power. It will cause CHT to be a little higher and EGT lower. You can read a review of the system at the following links:

http://www.avweb.com/news/reviews/182489-1.html

http://www.avweb.com/news/reviews/182490-1.html

Some important things:
Be extremely careful during installation and be sure to follow instructions exactly. Do not cross wires or you will damage the controller. It is Importent that voltage drop during starting doesnt go below a certain number. I have that number on my laptop if you need it let me know. It can become an issue when using a PM starter. You will need the T-300 timong tool specifically made for LASAR. You don't really need the CHT option if you are one to watch your temps anyway. They say it won't help with racing at max RPM and down low. I have found that statement wrong. It does work on my plane during racing and down low as evidenced by the lower EGT and higher CHT when cycling LASAR on and off.