VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Old 09-09-2014, 08:17 PM

Default RV-7A Garet's RV project

Hi All, Thought I would formally introduce myself here. This is my first RV (In fact first any kind of plane) and a total newbie when it comes to building real planes. I've grown up around planes as my father was an Air Traffic Controller for his entire career and he also had his private pilots license. In my late teen's though the family went different directions and I just didn't stick with planes.

I have great memories of touring the Glasair Factory in the early 90's and disassembling dad's taylorcraft for restoration. Not to mention the airshows at the Boeing Field!

I hope that I can get back to my roots and pick up where I left off so many years ago, and share that with my kids!

http://garetsrv.blogspot.ca/
Old 09-09-2014, 09:00 PM

Welcome Garet!

You're in good company here. As you probably know there is a great resource of archived and human knowledge (and opinions) here on VAF. Check in regularly and often.

Bevan
Abbotsford BC
Precision F.I. with AP purge valve
Vinyl Wrapped Exterior
Grand Rapids EFIS
Located in western Canada
Old 09-10-2014, 06:26 AM

I have an 7A also -flying.
Glad that you are building. Fun project, frustrating also at time, hang in there it will be worth it. There is plenty of help if you need it here on this site.
Dave/ Indiana
Old 09-12-2014, 09:11 AM

Default Welcome

Welcome Garet. Good choice. Remember, this is supposed to be fun so if you get frustrated, take a step back and remind yourself it's fun. Get the family involved so it's family fun.
wirejock at yahoo dot com
Donated 12/01/2017. Plus a little extra.
RV-7A #73391, N511RV reserved (1,800+ hours)
HS SB, empennage, tanks, wings, fuse, working finishing kit
Disclaimer