What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Aerobatics in a RV-8?

Hi, I am new to VAF so go easy please. I am interested in building / purchasing an aerobatic a/c as well as a traveler. I am thinking of a RV-8. I live in WI and would like to find someone with a RV (maybe an 8) to view, fly, discuss, gain some perspective, .......from the experienced. If I go the purchase route, I would look to those who have built to give pointers on inspection of said a/c.

If anyone has experience or comments in this area, I would appreciate them also.

My list of needs:
Aerobatic
2 Place
Traveler

So many more questions.

Thanks in advance.

Call or email me if you have a few minutes.
Galen
920-246-5346
[email protected]

Aerobatics in the RV-8

Hi Galen: I've not flown my RV-8 yet (hope to soon!) but have flown 3 other -8's one with full inverted systems. I find the plane does wonderful gentleman's aerobatics including hammerheads, loops, rolls, Cuban 8's, spins, wing overs etc. It is stressed to only 3 negative G's so I'm not enthused about outside maneuvers in the airplane. It does fly inverted quite nicely, not requiring nearly as high angle of attack inverted as I has supposed it would need. The controls are nicely harmonized and roll rate is very adequate, if not like a Pitts or other dedicated acro mount. At 1600# aerobatic weight, most -8's can carry 90' fuel and reasonably sized pilot and pax. Very fun to fly and an excellent X-C mount as well. Give me a call at 414-332-7897 if you'd like to talk about your needs and my (limited) experience with -8 aerobatics. Bill

Galen, you should define your aerobatic requirements... The -8 is plenty strong and does "fun" aerobatics well, but it's not a competition level aerobatic mount. I'd describe it as a good cross country airplane with some aerobatic capability. Which was exactly the opposite of my last airplane.