What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New Jugs or leave it alone?

BABALU

Well Known Member
Looking for input, im no mechanic and I am new to aviation so i have lots of dumb questions. Heres the scenario: You have a 1500hr O320 150 hp engine with decent compression in all cylinders in an RV6, would like 160hp and a fresh top but from what ive been reading in various publications and forums its best not to replace cylinders unless absolutely necessary. Is this the common consensus? or am i reading to much into it. Would it be best to run the engine out and then either replace new with core value exchange/MOH? I know im not going to get an absolute cherry in my price range but i want to give myself the best chance to fly for awhile before i have empty my savings account again.
Input appreciated.

Leave it alone. 10hp is not going to be very noticeable and will risk doing more harm than good. Also a lot of money when you currently have good compression.

Depends if you will keep this plane for a long time or are planning to sell. If planning to sell it would be worth more with an overhauled engine than a timed out engine. If planning on keeping it I would run it well past recommended TBO as long as oil analysis checks show no bottom end wear issues. The question about new cylinders is a matter of your preference and bank account funds.

"The Wants"

Hi Clayton,
First, Mike & Keith give you some good info there.
I believe you are presently suffering a common affliction to us all, "The Wants". We all want a newer, bigger & badder engine. I want a RR Merlin to replace my 160 hp O-320. ;)