VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-7/7A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-26-2018, 08:18 PM
RV7AJeremy's Avatar
RV7AJeremy RV7AJeremy is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Gilbert AZ
Posts: 403
Default Here are mine

Toward the bottomhttps://www.dropbox.com/sh/xoc7sj8xh...BGJtl5Ya?dl=0#
__________________
Jeremy
ATP, CFI, CFII
RV-7 N424JD KCHD
EAA Tech Counselor
2017 Bronze Lindy
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-27-2018, 08:59 AM
toc pilot toc pilot is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 48
Default

Have a look at my FB page photo section. I am running dual D1000 Skyview and you can see how/where I mounted all my equipment.

https://www.facebook.com/pg/Bill-Hem...=page_internal
__________________
Bill Hempel
RV-7: N17HB AEIO-390, Hartzell Composite C/S prop, Dual Skyview D1000. First Flight: Oct 2017
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-27-2018, 10:55 AM
Iluke Iluke is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hope Valley, Rhode Island
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wirejock View Post
Ivan, Thanks.
I planned to do the same. What goes in the hole in the subpanel on the right?
That's for the map box. Since my budget will only support a single Dynon screen I figured I'd add the map box to have a little storage room. I made it removable so it will be another way to access the area without crawling under.
__________________
Ivan Luke
Hope Valley, RI
RV-7 SB
In the finish kit phase
2018 dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-26-2018, 10:49 AM
Ethanol1 Ethanol1 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN
Posts: 34
Default Dynon Install

Ivan,

Did you move forward with your layout/plan? I am working on layout out the dynon equipment as well.

Mike






Quote:
Originally Posted by Iluke View Post
larry,

I'm at a similar point an here's what I'm doing. You might find it useful. I'm planning to buy all Dynon stuff so I got the unit dimensions from their website and made up cardboard replicas so I could play around with positions. Turns out that I will be able to fit everything on the aft face of that panel just forward of the instrument panel. What this means (I think) is that I can reasonably expect to be able to install it all after riveting on the forward top skin, but just removing the instrument panel for access.

I'll try posting pictures.

r
Ivan

__________________
Mike York
President EAA Ch 25
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-26-2018, 11:52 AM
Iluke Iluke is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hope Valley, Rhode Island
Posts: 116
Default Finalized my sub-panel layout

Mike

I played around with it this weekend and I think I have finalized where I will mount everything on the subpanel. It all appears to fit easily.

I'll try posting an updated picture, but it doesn't always work for me.




Anyway, I have the EMS over toward the right to facilitate leading all the sensor leads forward through the firewall penetration on the right. I've also installed my fuse block on a hinged panel and a central grounding buss in the center.

Again, my plan is to go ahead and rivet the forward top skin and install the windshield all before buying the Dynon equipment. I believe this arrangement will allow me to install everything

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

__________________
Ivan Luke
Hope Valley, RI
RV-7 SB
In the finish kit phase
2018 dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-26-2018, 11:53 AM
Iluke Iluke is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hope Valley, Rhode Island
Posts: 116
Default




I cannot for the life of me seem to be able to master this image posting thing.
__________________
Ivan Luke
Hope Valley, RI
RV-7 SB
In the finish kit phase
2018 dues paid

Last edited by Iluke : 03-26-2018 at 01:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-26-2018, 02:21 PM
Raymo's Avatar
Raymo Raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Richmond Hill, GA (KLHW)
Posts: 1,739
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wirejock View Post
Ivan, Thanks.
I planned to do the same. What goes in the hole in the subpanel on the right?
Larry,

If you plan to install an IFR navigator (e.g. Garmin/Avidyne), you'll want to keep a section in the middle of the sub-panel open. Most of those boxes are 9+ inches long and will need to protrude through the sub-panel.

I did not plan for one in my photo but now wish I had. Re-arranging everything later is a PITA, as I am finding with a GNS-480 installation in a friend's completed -7.
__________________
Ray
RV-7A - Slider - N495KL - First flt 27 Jan 17
O-360-A4M w/ AFP FM-150 FI, 1 PMag, Vetterman Trombone Exh, SkyTech starter, PlanePower Alt
Catto 3 blade NLE, FlightLines Interior, James cowl, plenum & intake, Anti-Splat -14 seat mod and nose gear support
All lines by TSFlightLines
NSDQ

"The object of the game, gentlemen, is not to cheat death: the object is not to let him play."
Patrick Poteen, Sgt. U.S. Army

Last edited by Raymo : 03-27-2018 at 08:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-26-2018, 04:09 PM
rightrudder rightrudder is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Posts: 1,623
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wirejock View Post
What goes in the hole in the subpanel on the right?
That's the pass-through for the map box.
__________________
Doug
RV-9A "slider"
Flew to Osh in 2017 & 2018!
Tail number N427DK
Donation made for 2018
You haven't seen a tree until you've seen its shadow from the sky -- Amelia Earhart
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-26-2018, 04:13 PM
wirejock's Avatar
wirejock wirejock is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Estes Park, CO
Posts: 2,977
Default FOR box

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymo View Post
Larry,

If you plan to install an IFR navigator (e.g. Garmin/Avidyne), you'll want to keep a section in the middle of the sub-panel open. Most of those boxes are 9+ inches long and will need to protrude through the sub-panel.

I did not plan for one in my photo but now wish I had. Re-arranging everything later is a PITA, as I am finding with a GNS-480 installation in a friends completed -7.
Yes. I looked up the dimensions. Those boxes are huge!
__________________
Larry Larson
Estes Park, CO
http://wirejockrv7a.blogspot.com
wirejock at yahoo dot com
Donated 12/01/2017. Plus a little extra.
RV-7A #73391, N511RV reserved (1,800+ hours)
HS SB, empennage, tanks, wings, fuse, working finishing kit
Disclaimer
I cannot be, nor will I be, held responsible if you try to do the same things I do and it does not work and/or causes you loss, injury, or even death in the process.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-27-2018, 09:03 AM
sglynn's Avatar
sglynn sglynn is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Anacortes, WA
Posts: 653
Default Panel with HDX

I'm doing my panel now with 1 HDX, 1 Garmin 430, and the Dynon D6 for backup. You can see photos on mykitlog.com/sglynn. I had to make access holes in the sub-panel to accommodate the depth of the Garmin and D6.

www.mykitlog.com/sglynn
__________________
Steve Lynn
RV-7A
95% Complete
Ready for first start
Anacortes, WA
www.mykitlog.com/sglynn
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.