VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 04-19-2018, 07:44 PM
thoma015 thoma015 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 108
Default Can I use this cable for strobes

Forgive my ignorance but im trying to find out why I have this wire. A few years back i purchased a used wing kit that came with a Whelen 650PG/PR kit. It has a package of shielded 3 conductor cable with it. The bag is labeled LN HD-60-1 with all the Mate N LOC connectors that plug into the Whelen power supply.

Now here is my question, the cable is 18 AWG but the installation guide say to use 16 AWG. Did the previous owner purchase the wrong sized wire or can I use this stuff? Here is a link to the specifications of the wire. https://www.quabbin.com/products/dig...broadcast/4170

thanks,
__________________
-Hawk

Last edited by thoma015 : 04-19-2018 at 07:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2018, 07:55 PM
AviatorJ AviatorJ is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 635
Default

Iím no expert, but I tend to follow the instructions. Only thing I could think of is maybe theyíre shorter than normal runs.. so smaller wire works...
__________________
Justin
RV-10 Quickbuild 'Avionics and Interior'
http://operationrv10.blogspot.com/
Donated for 2018
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2018, 08:00 PM
Jesse's Avatar
Jesse Jesse is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: X35 - Ocala, FL
Posts: 3,499
Default

It came as a kit. If it has a black, red and white/clear as well as an unshielded wire with a foil wrap, then itís the right wire.
__________________
Jesse Saint (Saint Aviation, Inc. - VAF Advertiser)
352-427-0285
jesse@saintaviation.com
RV Hotel (hangar, room, car) at X35 in north FL

Commercial ASEL/S A&P/IA EAA Technical Counselor

Dynamic Prop Balancing, Prebuy Inspections, Condition Inspections, Repairs and Mods, Injector Tuning, Airframe, Engine, Panel Upgrades, Ferrying, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2018, 12:08 PM
thoma015 thoma015 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse View Post
It came as a kit. If it has a black, red and white/clear as well as an unshielded wire with a foil wrap, then it’s the right wire.
I found this on aircraft spruce. looks like the same kti other than it being different AWG wire. http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalo...clickkey=36018
__________________
-Hawk
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:44 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.