What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

DIY Hoses?

szicree

Well Known Member
I'm considering making my own oil/fuel lines and would like to hear from those who've done it as to what to expect. I've never done it before but it really looks pretty simple. Opinions?

GO FOR IT!!

szicree said:
I'm considering making my own oil/fuel lines and would like to hear from those who've done it as to what to expect. I've never done it before but it really looks pretty simple. Opinions?

A cutoff wheel will make a nice square clean cut. Make a fuel line first. They are lower presssure. After you have made one, you won't have a problem about the fitting holding. :eek:

This way you can make it fit JUST THE WAY that you want............... :D

PS Be sure to clean it well after you are done.

Fun and economical

Steve,

It is pretty simple, patience is a virtue though. First you need to wrap the braid REALLY tight with fiberglass reinforced tape. Use a dremel cutoff wheel to make the cut, don't force it let it work through the material. Use 30 weight oil or like I did invest in a bottle made by Aeroquip filled with 30 weight oil for $9.00. :) Pressing the hose end into the fitting seemed to get easier after some practice...I failed the first night, suceeded the second night...why? Who knows. I can tell you that the little stainless steel wires in the braid will poke tiny, painfull holes in your fingers. :eek: Van's sells a hose tool that is worth every penny.

http://www.vansaircraft.com/cgi-bin...3-308-219&browse=tools&product=Tool-Hose-Assy