What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Aerospace Textbook Recommendations?

Well Known Member
Hey all you Aerospace and Mechanical engineers out there!

I'm looking for your recommendations for engineering textbooks/handbooks that you have found particularly enlightening or useful. I'm a Chemical engineer, and while our curriculum was heavy on thermo and chemistry, we don't get much into structures and statics and dynamics, so I don't have a lot of knowledge or information in those areas, just what was necessary to pass the FE exam way back when.

Can you recommend your best/most practical textbooks and handbooks in the following areas:

Structures (particularly aircraft and spacecraft)
Aerodynamics
Engines (particularly Otto and Diesel cycles and their relatives)

I'd really appreciate it and I bet others here would too!

Aerospace Textbook Recommendations

Aircraft Design:
General Aviation Aircraft Design
Snorri Gudmundsson
Butterworth Heinemann
1024 pages
This is THE best book on small aircraft design. Not structures as such, but sizing of wings, airfoil selection, sizing of empennage, performance, stability.

Structures:
Aircraft Structures
David Peery
McGraw Hill
566 pages
This is the classic on structures. There are later and updated editions, some of which have not gotten good reviews.

Practical Stress Analysis for Design Engineers
Jean-Claude Flabel
Lake City Publishing Company
686 pages
This is more of a detail design book than Peery.

Analysis and Design of Flight Vehicle Structures
Bruhn
Jacobs Publishing
Lots of pages, but numbered by section
Another classic. Extremely detailed and comprehensive

Design of Light Aircraft
Richard Hiscocks
Self Published, but I think the rights have been taken up by another publisher
281 pages