What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Testing the master contactor

8 Builder

I have an ES 24115 master contactor. I wanted to hear the contacts close when power was applied. I used a small 12 volt lead acid battery for the test. I hooked the positive lead of the battery to the contact labeled BAT. I then touched the negative lead of the battery to the small control terminal on the front of the master Contactor. The diode is in place and properly oriented. Connecting the negative lead to the control terminal resulted in what seemed like a direct short circuit. Lots of Sparks and heat from the wires. Isn't this the correct way this is wired in when in actual use? No clunk, no joy.

News flash...I took the diode off at the control terminal end and when the contactor was energized in this configuration it worked properly. Bad diode? It WAS hooked up properly with the red band on the diode nearest the battery connection.

Last edited:
If you have a digital multimeter you can check the diode. Most have a diode check position. Forward should be about 0.7V. If it doesn't have a diode check position use the ohms range. Forward low resistance, reversed high resistance.

I have an ES 24115 master contactor. I wanted to hear the contacts close when power was applied. I used a small 12 volt lead acid battery for the test. I hooked the positive lead of the battery to the contact labeled BAT. I then touched the negative lead of the battery to the small control terminal on the front of the master Contactor. The diode is in place and properly oriented. Connecting the negative lead to the control terminal resulted in what seemed like a direct short circuit. Lots of Sparks and heat from the wires. Isn't this the correct way this is wired in when in actual use? No clunk, no joy.