VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 05-21-2020, 05:08 PM
Boyd Birchler Boyd Birchler is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: IN
Posts: 250
Default WingX Pro with Echo/SkyFx-EXT

I have an Echo with a SkyFX-Ext in my Rv7. I use WingX Pro as my flight app.
Problem is; any of our 4 devices tried, registers a ground speed usually in the 65 to 85 knot range (while actual GS is 165 KTS), but on rare occasions it will read the same GS as my 430 WAAS.

I've talked with Uavionx they said to turn off position services in the device being used(I assume this disables the Ipads internal GPS),I did that and it did not make any difference.

Called Wing X/Hilton software and left a message. Then Emailed and got a response "We have not tested program compatibility with the Echo... check this link for compatible hardware.

I have compared my GS indication on my Ipad with that of my Iphone and my wife's Android, since all have the WingX app installed and the Echo can support multiple devices at one time. All agreed on GS.

My next step is to find a friend with ForeFlight and see if it is a matter of the flight app or the hardware.

My question is has anyone had this problem and found a solution?

Last edited by Boyd Birchler : 05-22-2020 at 06:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-22-2020, 06:26 AM
RONSIM's Avatar
RONSIM RONSIM is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Largo, FL
Posts: 994
Default I have WingX with echo

I actually have WingX, FlyQ, and iFly on my iPad --- regularly switch between them -- I like the traffic presentation better on WingX --- anyway, not had a problem as long as I remember to have the iPad on the Echo WiFi source (Ping).

Ron
__________________
RV-10 Co-built, maintained, flown (sold)
RV-8A Maintained and flown (Sold)
RV-6A Bought and Flying (N177RV), upgrades $$$
IO360, 180HP/CS, AFS 5600T, D10A, G650, G430, G327, ADS-B, VIZ385 AP
Very Happy Contributor
Comm, SMEL, CFII, A&P
Based at KCLW (Clearwater, FL)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2020, 08:02 AM
Pilot135pd's Avatar
Pilot135pd Pilot135pd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Vaca Moo Airport - TA37 in East TEXAS
Posts: 1,087
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RONSIM View Post
I actually have WingX, FlyQ, and iFly on my iPad --- regularly switch between them -- I like the traffic presentation better on WingX --- anyway, not had a problem as long as I remember to have the iPad on the Echo WiFi source (Ping).

Ron
When you have WingX connected to the Echo wifi, does it still use data from the cell service for the other WingX (or other apps) things like current gas prices or weather app info, or does it say that data is not available or simply not give you the current info?
__________________
RV-8 N52VM: OnSpeed Gen2 AOA-3D, Dynon D-180, Autopilot, Titan 0-360A1A, Hartzell C/S, INS-429 IFR & GPS496, WingX & Stratux for backup & ADS-B IN. Enjoying life while building a FREE campsite for pilots www.facebook.com/VacaMooAirport/

Exempt by 3 out of the 10 ways but I still donated.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2020, 12:13 PM
RONSIM's Avatar
RONSIM RONSIM is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Largo, FL
Posts: 994
Default Weather and traffic through ADS-B

Weather and traffic is supplied to the Echo through the ADS-B system and makes it to your iPad from the Echo WiFi --- I have never tried to check fuel prices in the air, so no help there.

Ron
__________________
RV-10 Co-built, maintained, flown (sold)
RV-8A Maintained and flown (Sold)
RV-6A Bought and Flying (N177RV), upgrades $$$
IO360, 180HP/CS, AFS 5600T, D10A, G650, G430, G327, ADS-B, VIZ385 AP
Very Happy Contributor
Comm, SMEL, CFII, A&P
Based at KCLW (Clearwater, FL)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2020, 07:32 PM
Boyd Birchler Boyd Birchler is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: IN
Posts: 250
Default

Mine has fuel prices that are saved from the last time it was connected to the internet.

My Ipad has an internal GPS but I do not have cellular service (although it is capable if I would care to pay for it). I did turn off the internal GPS to see if it was interfering with the SkyFx GPS; but it made no difference.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2020, 07:36 PM
Boyd Birchler Boyd Birchler is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: IN
Posts: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RONSIM View Post
I actually have WingX, FlyQ, and iFly on my iPad --- regularly switch between them -- I like the traffic presentation better on WingX --- anyway, not had a problem as long as I remember to have the iPad on the Echo WiFi source (Ping).

Ron
I doubt from what you are saying the problem lays with the Echo it's self but with the SkyFx-Ext WAAS GPS source.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-26-2020, 06:38 PM
Boyd Birchler Boyd Birchler is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: IN
Posts: 250
Default

Well I believe I found the problem. The comm #1 and Comm #2 baud rates were somehow re-set to incorrect rates; once baud rates were set to the needed values the Ipad GS is a match for my 430W and the G3X screens.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:06 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.