What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Page 11-03

I tried to install my first nutplate and the plans said to use a temp screw to help hold the nutplate. The 8-32 screw would not go thru the hole in the flange. Also the drawing says SB187-2 left side. What is that? This is my first attempt at this hope it goes thru. Jerry

First make sure you have a 8-32 nutplate , they can be hard to size. The nutplate thread is crimped a little to make the nut lock and not come loose. this crimp makes threading the nutplate hard if not secured. Try to use clecos to secure the nutplate to your piece being attached to first then inserting the screw with the appropriate driver.
I don't have my manual handy but a SB187-2 might be a snap bushing. They are black bushings that fit into a hole to protect wires and such.

Jerry, what are you using to rivet?

I used a pneumatic squeezer which makes it a simpler process. I didn't use a screw or a cleco to hold the nutplate. With my spar laying flat and the flanges up, I inserted 2 rivets into the rivet holes and through the nutplate. With my left hand I held the left rivet in place (thumb on the rivet head, index finger holding the nutplate. Then I simply squeezed the right rivet. Don't crush your finger :eek:

Tom

SB187-2 is a small black plastic snap bushing. It gets installed on the face of the spar, look for it in figure 2 on that page.

Nutplates and Jig