What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Battery Contactor in RV-10

rboyer

I'm New Here
I have an interesting issue. I have been wiring my new panel for a couple of months now. I'm in the final phase and have been programming it etc. Yesterday I went to turn off the master and the contactor (solenoid) stayed engaged. At first I though my master switch (a cessna rocker type) went bad. I replaced it with a spare and still had the same problem. So I went to the rear of the aircraft and disconnected the ground (from the master) going to the single pole on the contactor and it stayed engaged. I had to disconnect the battery to get it to dis-engage.

On the bench, the contactor seems to work correctly. I've never seen one fail like this (if it is even failing).

ideas??
Richard Boyer

Do you have dual batteries??

Is there a second battery somewhere as a backup??

When you disconnected the battery, did the contactor actually "dis-engage"?? did you hear the contactor open?? Did you try re-connecting the battery to see if the contactor was "frozen" in the closed position??

These contractors are pretty reliable, I am suspecting you may have something else going on that is keeping the contactor from disengaging :confused:

The mounting base needs to be isolated. Is there a crack in the plastic or something at the base that could be grounding the unit? You would not have a bare wire laying over the unit that is making ground?
Good luck

I don't have dual batteries, but I do have a TCW battery backup in the system. I dont have it on when this is happening and it isn't in the same circuit as the master switch. When I disconnected the battery it did disengage.

As for isolating the mounting base... The case itself is used for ground. If it weren't there would be no way for the contactor to make a circuit. I have seen the kind of contactors you are talking about and this isn't one of them.