What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

To Build or Not-to Build?

Lizard Lips

I am seriously considering building an RV-10 Quick Build. However I have no building experience. I have a good mechanical background, such as my MOS in the Army was Aircraft Mechanic where I cared for L-19's, L-20's, L-23's, YL-26 and various and sundry other "experimental" aircraft. (I was assigned to the Army Aviation Test Board for 3 years). I recently attended a course in California to obtain a Light Sport Repairman certificate and am certified to conduct repairs and inspections on Light Sport aircraft.

My concern is my lack of experience in building an aircraft. Built and flew large scale RC model aircraft (10 hp engines, etc) for many years, but that's models, not full scale aircraft. I hold a Commercial Pilot's license with Instrument, Multi-Engine and Flight Instructor ratings so I have a fairly good understanding of how an airplane flies.

I just worry about jumping off into the deep with a large, expensive project and wondered what you would do if you were in my shoes. Recently got married to a wonderful woman who is actually encouraging me to start the project so home support will not be a problem. Did I mention that I am 83 years old, in perfect health and plan to be around for a long time to come?

I'm not an RV-10 builder, but sometimes I help a buddy who is building a QB RV-10 and I'm building an RV-3B for myself.

It's a job, all right. Lots to do. But the quality of the kit is excellent and the plans are superb. You'll learn as you go. Ask local builders and VAF and Van's Support (which is excellent, by the way) and many of the questions will get resolved quickly.