VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > ADS-B
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #101  
Old 08-02-2017, 08:46 AM
AllThumbs's Avatar
AllThumbs AllThumbs is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 284
Default Serial

Hi Dennis,

I did a write up a while back on wiring that exact setup for an RV-12. Let me know if you can't find the forum thread and I'll send you a link.

Neil
__________________
RV-6 panel is fine. Just... fine.
2016 VAF dues paid!
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 08-02-2017, 09:07 AM
MartySantic's Avatar
MartySantic MartySantic is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Davenport, IA
Posts: 1,368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllThumbs View Post
Hi Dennis,

I did a write up a while back on wiring that exact setup for an RV-12. Let me know if you can't find the forum thread and I'll send you a link.

Neil
Neil,
Did you ever solve the issue with periodic altitude dropouts?
__________________
Marty Santic ----- W9EAA
RV-12 N128MS ----- Now Flying
My RV-12 Build Log - http://www.martysrv12.blogspot.com/
Davenport, IA
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 08-02-2017, 10:46 AM
DennisRhodes DennisRhodes is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Taylorsville, Ga
Posts: 488
Default

Actually altitude drop outs are what i am trying to solve. Looking at a bunch of reports in last year I ve had alritude drop out about 25% of the flights. Thought i would start with the transmonSPE since i now have a 327 x ponder. Most of that flying is in E air space but within radar coverage out of either Atl or Chattanooga.
__________________
DRRhodes
2017 VAF dues paid
RV9 N908DR
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 08-02-2017, 01:33 PM
DennisRhodes DennisRhodes is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Taylorsville, Ga
Posts: 488
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllThumbs View Post
Hi Dennis,

I did a write up a while back on wiring that exact setup for an RV-12. Let me know if you can't find the forum thread and I'll send you a link.

Neil
Neil ,I spent some time on the search but was not successful in finding the thread < searched by Allthumbs, Navworx, Dynon 180 DEK and RV12 but no luck.
__________________
DRRhodes
2017 VAF dues paid
RV9 N908DR
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 08-02-2017, 06:06 PM
AllThumbs's Avatar
AllThumbs AllThumbs is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 284
Default

Here you go, Dennis:
http://www.vansairforce.com/communit...d.php?t=123619
I can't believe we did that way back in 2015...

Marty, I did not. I had to send my box back to Bill and then the AD hit. Last I heard it was a firmware issue that was fixed in the 5.7.x code. I'm waiting to hear from Bill about the firmware that will handle the GPS dog-house for EXP boxes hit by the AD. I'm asking for DETAILED release notes so hopefully I'll be able to answer a few more of these old questions at that time.
__________________
RV-6 panel is fine. Just... fine.
2016 VAF dues paid!
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 08-11-2017, 07:35 AM
recapen recapen is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Laurel, DE
Posts: 248
Default FYI some AMOCs approved

Updated - please see:

http://www.vansairforce.com/communit...d.php?t=152455

More coming as it happens.
__________________
Ralph E. Capen
RV6AQB N822AR @ N06
"Patience"

Last edited by recapen : 08-17-2017 at 07:31 AM. Reason: New URL
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 08-11-2017, 11:39 AM
recapen recapen is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Laurel, DE
Posts: 248
Default Ongoing tech issue

I think this one is software based though.

How many of you are using an SL-70 as your control head for your ADS600B?

Have you checked to see that when you change the squawk code in the SL-70 that it actually changes in the ADS600B?

Mine doesn't at all - neither 1200baud or 9600baud.
If I change it in the ADS600B to a SL70R and run the SL-70 at 9600 baud, it seems to work properly - but then I give up other functionality that relies on the 1200 baud SL-70. This is why I think it is software related - reading the manuals shows that they all output the same messages essentially.

Anyone else out there running this configuration?

I have a short-term workaround - but it is not right either...involves setting my SL-70 and then changing it in the ADS600B through my MX-20...double entry!

I know a bunch of SL-70's were sold...I'm trying the get a feel for how big an impact this is to the community - as in who can't fly with this set-up and how quickly will it get fixed?

Thanks!
__________________
Ralph E. Capen
RV6AQB N822AR @ N06
"Patience"
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 08-20-2017, 10:44 AM
AviatorJ AviatorJ is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 495
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rleffler View Post
Do you have another GPS in the aircraft? If so, you may be able to temporarily swap antenna if the other antenna is supported by Navworx.

Which brand and model of GPS antenna do you currently have on the Navworx? I think I may have mentioned it earlier, but Garmin had a large failure rate on their GA 35. It was limited to a certain time period, which I can't recall at the moment. Mine failed just after the warranty expired.
Finally put some time into troubleshooting the setup. I used 3 separate antenna cables and tried 2 different GA56 antennas. All with the same result of no GPS input into the Navworx box. I tested the GPS antenna voltage output at the end of the cable and was receiving a constant 4.88V. I'm speculating that there was a mishap and that it either didn't get fixed when I sent the unit in or that there's another issue outside of the GPS unit that was supposedly fixed. Shot Bill an email about it to see what the solution is, guessing I'll just have to send it back in.
__________________
Justin
RV-10 Quickbuild 'Finishing Kit'
http://operationrv10.blogspot.com/
Donated for 2017
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 09-10-2017, 07:51 AM
AviatorJ AviatorJ is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 495
Default

Talked to Scott from Dallas Avionics at the AOPA fly in yesterday. I didn't realize that the final AD ruling came out and that my box is now affected. Going to work with him on a path forward but I'm hopefully it will resolve both any AD concerns and get the thing working.
__________________
Justin
RV-10 Quickbuild 'Finishing Kit'
http://operationrv10.blogspot.com/
Donated for 2017
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:06 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.