What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Quick Vs Slow build fuselage......I cant decide

PiperRV10

I'm New Here
VAF,
Hello all, I have been lurking on the site for years and have finally registered. I have just purchased some complete wings and finished up my Tail kit, looking at ordering the fuselage.

I have done the math and after shipping and everything the total cost for my QB fuselage is $8690 +the kit.

~Is it worth it? How much time did it take the standard builders to make it to the QB stage? I am a first time builder, have enjoyed building however I do want to get in the air faster. I really want to go QB for time savings, but I need to get a good feel for HOW MUCH time is almost 9k going to save me?

I have read all the threads on the topic and well I am still asking the question.....

how is the quality of the QB now ?

Any QB builders wish they went Slow?

any Slow who wish for fast?

I think you all know the trouble I am having with this decision so ANY insight would be greatly appreciated .

I called the factory but they don't have a good "hours" count on the QB vs slow on the fuse alone, only wings and fuse.

thanks

Brian Orfalls

I thought the fuselage kit was the most interesting and rewarding part of the whole process. Legacy build allows much more flexibility in interior paint, powder coating wear areas, insulation, and wiring prep, etc. I did A/C which would have been much more challenging with a QB.

If you have the money and want to get into the air as quickly as possible, I recommend the quick build option. I wanted to go the quick build route for the fuselage but was forced into the slow build because of a shortage of funds. I don't regret the slow build but would rather be flying by now. (I've been working on and off on my project for 10 years now and figure another 2 - 4 until I'm flying...maybe 6! :eek: )

Good luck with your decision.

Qb