VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 08-11-2017, 06:21 PM
Timberwolf Timberwolf is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Navarre, FL
Posts: 144
Default Static line block

After letting my -6 sit outside while I'm at training for 2 weeks I fired it up and flew home for the weekend. Ran into some moderate rain, but nothing torrential. As I join the pattern I notice she isn't slowing down like normal. At a fairly high angle of attach and power off it's still reading 110kts on both the G5 and G3X. This triggers it in my mind that something is off and I deploy flaps assured I'm under Vfe. I land without incident and while taxiing in it's still reading 60 kts. Once at the hangar I pull the static off the encoder and the speed goes to zero. I didn't have anymore time to dig into it, but curious if anyone has seen any issues? I have dual static vents on either side of the fuse behind the baggage bulkhead which join together in a T fitting. Never had an issue before with rain, and I would suspect the holes are too small for a mud dauber or the like. I'll hopefully get a chance to take a look tomorrow and see if I can deduce the cause.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2017, 08:31 AM
Carl Froehlich's Avatar
Carl Froehlich Carl Froehlich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dogwood Airpark (VA42)
Posts: 1,135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timberwolf View Post
. SNIP. I have dual static vents on either side of the fuse behind the baggage bulkhead which join together in a T fitting. SNIP.
You don't mention if the lines from each port go up (vertically) to the T fitting or not. Running a vertical length on each side provides a path for water to drain out.

Carl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2017, 08:35 AM
rv6builder's Avatar
rv6builder rv6builder is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delta BC
Posts: 114
Default

How was your altimeter reading?
__________________
Alex Doughty
Canadian ATPL
RV6- The engine runs...
2017 Dues paid up
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2017, 08:40 AM
flion's Avatar
flion flion is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 2,456
Default

If your airspeed was fine on take-off, then I would suspect in-flight blockage (water) in the lines.
__________________
Patrick Kelley - Flagstaff, AZ
RV-6A N156PK - Flying too much to paint
RV-10 14MX(reserved) - Fuselage on gear
http://www.mykitlog.com/flion/
EAA Technical Counselor #5357
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2017, 08:41 PM
Timberwolf Timberwolf is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Navarre, FL
Posts: 144
Default

Lines do run up vertical from the static ports. Went out this morning and blew them out with a surprising amount of water draining from the ports. Now I'm left wondering if it was from when it was sitting or occurred during the flight as this was the first time it's set in a heavy rain then flown shortly after. Guess that's one more thing I need to tape over when I tie it down.

I didn't pay attention to the altimeter before I pulled the static line. If it happens again I'll take note
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-13-2017, 01:12 PM
DRMA DRMA is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 145
Default

Perhaps an argument for the installation of an alternate static port on your avionics? Doesn't have to be anything sophisticated, just a way to open up the static line to atmosphere inside the cabin from the pilot's seat.
__________________
Dave Macdonald

RV-10 Finishing Kit in-progress
2017 VAF Dues Paid
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-13-2017, 03:02 PM
Timberwolf Timberwolf is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Navarre, FL
Posts: 144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRMA View Post
Perhaps an argument for the installation of an alternate static port on your avionics? Doesn't have to be anything sophisticated, just a way to open up the static line to atmosphere inside the cabin from the pilot's seat.
Great idea and I do have such a thing by disconnecting the line to the encoder right under the dash. Always good to experience an issue like this in a low threat environment first so next time the light bulb comes on and I know the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-13-2017, 04:30 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 4,734
Default

Stein sells a nice alt static valve that looks like a toggle switch.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-13-2017, 10:36 PM
GalinHdz's Avatar
GalinHdz GalinHdz is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: KSGJ / TJBQ
Posts: 1,368
Default

FWIW I am using a Clippard mini 2 way toggle valve (TV-2M) like this one:



You can see it on the center section just to the right of my knee protected by a red cover:

It is easy to get to while in flight but out of the way and protected so I can't accidentally activate it.

__________________
Galin
CP, ASEL, AMEL, IR
St. Augustine, FL
www.puertoricoflyer.com

Last edited by GalinHdz : 08-14-2017 at 07:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:36 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.