VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-12
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-29-2017, 09:49 PM
Strappe Strappe is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 8
Default

We want AoA. We were told we had it. Our next step is to look through the airplane build logs and other documents to see what we can find in them. I can assure everyone that nothing is located on the under surface of the leading edge that would serve as a pressure port for an AoA system, I also do not see the combination pitot and AoA port that Dynon sells for other installations. So I am clearly missing something about this particular airplane.

FYI, the set up menus for the Skyview with ver 15.2 software include an option for choosing YES or NO for audio AoA wranings and for now I have set that to NO. It was set to YES.

Last edited by Strappe : 07-29-2017 at 09:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-29-2017, 10:00 PM
DHeal DHeal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Windsor, California
Posts: 610
Default

More than likely, your AOA port (IF you have one) is not a big probe but rather a single pop rivet head located near the stall warning tab under the left wing's leading edge.
__________________
David Heal - Windsor, CA (near Santa Rosa)
EAA #23982 - EAA Technical Counselor and Flight Advisor; CFI - A&I
RV-12 E-LSA #120496 (SV w/ AP and ADS-B) - N124DH flying since March 2014 - 555+ hours (as of Oct 2017)!
VAF donation through June 2018.

Last edited by DHeal : 07-29-2017 at 10:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-30-2017, 05:55 AM
BigJohn BigJohn is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gloversville, NY
Posts: 1,468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJohn View Post
Pull the instrument compartment cover, find the AOA port on the back of the Dynon, follow the tubing.
Sorry, didnt pick up on the fact this is a Skyview. David is right. That makes it a lot harder to get at the end of the tubing, if indeed it is there.

Is it possible to contact the original builder and just ask about the AOA?

If not, how about pulling the wing pins and sliding the wing(s) out a few inches to see if there is tubing?

Basically I agree with Tony. Shut off the distracting noise and figure it out at the next condition inspection. AOA really not necessary in this little airplane, unless you are dragging it into very short strips on a regular basi. JMHO.
__________________
John Peck, CFII, A&P, EAA Tech Counselor, Flight Advisor.
RV-12 N37JP 120176 Flying since 2012.
VAF paid through 10/2017. Best bargain in town.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-30-2017, 10:09 AM
Mich48041 Mich48041 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Riley TWP MI
Posts: 2,512
Default

Remove the inspection cover located near the stall warn vane under the left wing. Look or feel in there to find the small diameter plastic tube connected to a rivet. The rivet is likely the same as those used for the static ports on the sides of the fuselage.
If the AOA is installed but is not working properly, then the most likely cause is that the Dynon needs to be calibrated and setup.
__________________
Joe Gores
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:30 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.