VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics


Go Back   VAF Forums > Avionics / Interiors / Fiberglass > ADS-B
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-19-2017, 07:28 AM
Jaypratt's Avatar
Jaypratt Jaypratt is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hicks Airfield, Fort Worth,Texas
Posts: 1,627
Default Hope you

Quote:
Originally Posted by uk_figs View Post
If I read this correctly with my GDL 39 D, GTX 327 and 796 this solution would make me ADS-B compliant, is that correct? Quite a bit cheaper than replacing the 327 with the 335 transponder and less behind the panel work. I assume that the GDL-82 GPS would become the master?
Figs
Figs,, Hope you are correct on this! My airplane has the same ,, 327 and 796
__________________
Jay Pratt VAF #2
RV Central - Builder Assistance
Paul Revere, Borrowed Horse, & Shooter
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-19-2017, 07:49 AM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 11,689
Default

Very interesting solution to the problem of our motorglider project. It's got a simple MGL panel, and I have been wondering what we'll do for transponder and ADS-B. Well.....I just took the 327 out of the RV-8 and replaced it with a 345. So I could put the 327 in teh Xenos, add this little box - and I have "Out". Don't really need "IN", but if I need it, that little $199 dongle from ForeFlight is interesting.....
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor in Chief - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-19-2017, 08:05 AM
pvalovich pvalovich is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ridgecrest, CA
Posts: 394
Default Replacing 327

Paul - any chance you can report the details of your 327 replacement with a 345? I'm thinking of doing the same but am worried about space and wiring.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-19-2017, 08:20 AM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 11,689
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pvalovich View Post
Paul - any chance you can report the details of your 327 replacement with a 345? I'm thinking of doing the same but am worried about space and wiring.
I know you;'re talking about your -8, so I understand the worry about spacing. If the back of your transponder lines up with the cross-bar, then it is VERY tight - I had to use a 90 degree BNC adapter to make it work, and massage how the wires come out of the Garmin connector on teh back of the box so that they went sort of sideways instead of straight out the back. It does fit - but it is close. If your transponder doesn't line up with the crossbar, you'll be fine.

Mechanically changing the rack took about 30 minutes - you can use the same screw holes for both 327 and 345 racks.

The wiring changes are minimal and easy - just keep track of which serial channels are going where. Because I mix and match various brands for testing, I had to do some research to make sure how the GRT EFIS., TT Autopilot, Avidyne 440, and Garmin 345 would talk to each other - and still make sure I coudl slide the Avidyne out and put a 430W back in!
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor in Chief - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-19-2017, 12:16 PM
Chino Tom's Avatar
Chino Tom Chino Tom is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 706
Default

Than you Paul for answering a question I've been pondering about the spacing. My 327 is mounted at the cross bar level. Maybe it is a non
issue now!
__________________
Tom Prokop
Chino, CA
RV-8A,180/CS/Carb, AFS 4500 EFIS/EMS
RV-6, sold, 820 hrs of fun.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-19-2017, 07:07 PM
N427EF N427EF is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,510
Default wondering

wondering why this GDL 82 is not getting the attention.
GDL 52/51 seems to get all the reviews and yet almost everybody has some sort of ADS-b in already.
It is ADS-B out that seems to be the issue for most people especially those with a 327tx.
Just wondering out loud why this neat little box is not splashed all over the front page???
__________________
Ernst Freitag
RV-8 finished (sold)
RV-10 Flyer 400 plus hours
Over 2500 Gallons of E10 mogas burned
Don't believe everything you know.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-19-2017, 08:14 PM
BCP Boys's Avatar
BCP Boys BCP Boys is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kennesaw, Ga
Posts: 545
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N427EF View Post
wondering why this GDL 82 is not getting the attention.
GDL 52/51 seems to get all the reviews and yet almost everybody has some sort of ADS-b in already.
It is ADS-B out that seems to be the issue for most people especially those with a 327tx.
Just wondering out loud why this neat little box is not splashed all over the front page???

I'm very excited about this product myself and was wondering the same... I thought I was maybe missing something.
__________________
Amir
----------
RV-7 QB - N174WM
Supporting VAF since the first visit
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-19-2017, 10:36 PM
RV-4 RV-4 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: St-Jerome,Quebec,Canada
Posts: 1,016
Cool GDL-82

Gil, you say

´´Works in the US....no trip to Canada''

Did I miss something...is that new box program to stop working at the border..

Bruno
__________________
2018 Due paid gladly
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-20-2017, 04:35 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,031
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by jliltd View Post
With the GDL-82 being a UAT out product, does it have anonymous mode capability when squawking VFR like other UAT products?
Hello Jim,

Yes, you can configure the GDL 82 to transmit in anonymous mode anytime the transponder code is set to 1200.



Thanks,
Steve
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-20-2017, 06:20 AM
BKK117 BKK117 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 14
Default Anonymous Mode

Not to beat a dead horse and this product looks very promising, but in anonymous mode does ATC still get an A/C identifiable code they can track?
I'm honestly not as concerned about other aircraft knowing who I am as I am Uncle Sam riding along.

Your website states that it de-identifies you to other aircraft but it doesn't say if ATC can identify you.
__________________
Bryan Knight
Melbourne, FL
RV-8
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:11 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.