What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-8A Question

wbhammack

I am currently in the market for a RV-8A or 7A (or possibly 7). I have a son that is just starting to fly in a 172. My intention is to let him get his private and a fair amount of flight time in the 172. My question for the RV-8A crowd is how much visibility do you have from the back of a 8A? Once my son has a base of flying experience would I be able to sit in the back and land (if required) the 8A when fly son is flying up front? I've got plenty of experience myself (22 years military) 11 active /11 reserve / military instructor, and 18+ years at a major airline. I've sat in the back of a RV-8 and quickly realized that the visibility to land that from the back wasn't something I'd be interested in. I've never had the opportunity to fly in the back (or even sit in) a RV-8A. I'm interested in your opinions on how the visibility is / difficulty of landing a 8A from the back seat. Again, this wouldn't be something I would put him in until after he finished his private and really learned how to fly / land in the 172. I know the 7 or 7A is the easy solution but selfishly I would like the 8 for the tandem seating when I'm not worried about who is sitting behind me.
Thanks in advance for you inputs.

The problem with the 8 or the 8A is that the rear rudder pedals are pretty much useless when landing. (ask me how I know! Ouch!) I would not attempt to instruct from the back of an 8! Just my opinion.
I would stick with a 7 or 7A withe dual brakes for now.
Good luck
Nordo

An old thread is here for your reference - this does not address the 8A vs the 8, but it does address the idea of full controls in the back vs not, and what those are good for, what minimum experience you'd want in the front if you are the "PIC" from the back, etc.

http://www.vansairforce.com/community/showthread.php?t=3976