- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-14
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-21-2013, 09:29 PM

Default My First Row Of Skin Rivets. Is The Gap Normal

I am a first time builder. Started riveting the top skin on tonight after putting in the first 10 rivets I started checking my performance. I found that the skin is bent in at the rib there is no noticeable dents anywhere. Also I didn't feel that I was pushing hard at all.
First time trying to post an image so I hope this works.

The above image is just to show how I laid an aluminum bar against the skin.

See the gap behind the bar where the rivets are. Is this normal should I be concerned? Am I pushing too hard on the rivet gun? Or just being too fussy.

The above image is just to show that when I moved the bar over a rib that had not been riveted there is no gap at all.

Thanks in advance any and all help will be appreciated.
Mike
Old 02-21-2013, 10:13 PM

Dumb question, but did you dimple the ribs with the same dies as the skin?

RV-7A
Old 02-21-2013, 10:37 PM

Default I had the same problems

Mike,

It is hard to tell from a photo, but it looks to me like your holes may be under-dimpled. I don't see the slight ring around the dimpled hole and the skin surface should be flat right up to the dimple. I can see distortion in the reflection around the holes on the left side of your first photo. If the skin isn't flat before your set the rivet, it won't be after.

I had this problem when I first started, after I figure out how to get a nice crisp dimple the skins are much flatter.

Hope this helps,
Old 02-22-2013, 07:28 AM

Mike
I see that you are located in Chatham. I live in St Thomas. Do not proceed any further, you need a bit of help. Give me a call 519-631-1369

Tom Martin
2010 SARL Rocket 100 race, average speed of 238.6 knots/274.6mph