What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Find Flox/Epoxy

Paris12Man

Well Known Member
Hello All, I've just started on my project (compared to most of you) and while I'm waiting for my wing and fuselage kits, I thought I would do some of the small work with the lighting kit. On page 40-7 of the lighting kit, it calls out for "add flox/epoxy mixture to inside of W-1222 L & R....." I have no experience with resins, epoxys, and such. I'm assuming flox is some sort of strengthening agent for epoxy but can't seem to find it anywhere. Where do we find flox for purchase? I tried Aircraft Spruce and they don't offer flox, but do have other products. What did you guys use and where did you find it?
Thanks

Flox

Aircraft Spruce and other aviation materials suppliers...cheap...a 1-lb goes a long way.

Flox is something you make by mixing flocked cotton with epoxy resin...ACS sells everything you need....

West System Resins are great. Don't go down to Walmart or the auto store for your resin as that will be polyester resin and that stuff should be outlawed around airplanes....

You need resin and hardner. You can get fast or slow hardners...I recommend having both around.

Most people buy the pumps to make it easy to mix the stuff.

You will most likely also need some microballoons.

Some peel ply is also handy.

You may need some glass cloth at some point (not sure on the 12)..

You can get fast or slow hardeners...I recommend having both around.

On the RV-12, DO NOT even consider the fast hardener UNLESS your shop is below 20 degrees F.

The fast hardener sets up way too fast with spring/summer temps upon us.