What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Introduction: New RV-14 Builder

jdog0411

Hello everyone,

Wanted to introduce myself. My name is Jeremy, and I am a relatively new forum member, but have been dreaming of building an RV since the mid 90's. I am a private pilot, and got my license in 1995, although for a multitude of reasons I haven't flown much in the last 10-15 years. I'm now getting back into active flying, and am revisiting the dream of owning my own aircraft.

While I was in college in the mid 90's I poured over issues of Kitplanes and Sport Aviation magazines, and wanted to build an RV-6A. I even ordered a set of the preview plans and thought I could figure out a way to build an aircraft from an apartment, even though I was dreaming. I had no money, no tools, no skills, and no place to build. That dream would have to take a backseat until I was further along in life. Of course, life has it's own ways of getting in the way, so I really wasn't able to think about building seriously again until now, more than 20 years later.

I have now made the decision to finally make the dream a reality, and am in a place now where I think I can do this. I'm getting current with my piloting skills again, and have decided that I want to build an RV-14A. I just ordered the RV-14 tool kit from Cleaveland tool, along with a few other items (wow that was a lot of money for tools!), and also ordered two of the Van's practice kits. Can't wait for all of that to arrive. Once I have done the practice kits and gotten familiar with the tools, I will place the order for the RV-14A empennage kit...most likely in a few weeks.