What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV6/6A vs RV7 /7A

bizpilot

I am fairly new to VAF, just curious, what are the differences between the RV7/7A and RV6/6A ?

Bob Bisbee
1/2 RV14A

Like Larry mentioned, there’s quite a few differences between the 6 and 7 but to the untrained eye it may be kind of hard to distinguish the difference between the two if they were sitting side by side on the ramp.

Here’s a few of the differences:

1. The 7 basically took the place of the 6.
2. The 7 is pre-punched while the 6 isn’t.
3. The A-model on both are nose-draggers.
4. The empennage on the 7 is bigger/taller on the 7.
5. “Looks wise” you can even throw the 9 in there as possibly being hard for the untrained eye to tell the difference between the 6, 7, and 9.

Like I said, there are many other differences between the two, so the ones I mentioned are just some of the obvious ones.

Last edited:
Lots. 7 is prepunched. Different tail, wingtips, fuse is wider.

Fuselage is not wider. It is slightly longer (more leg room) and the seat pan is lowered to give more headroom. But width is the same on the -6, -7, and -9.

Headroom

Fuselage is not wider. It is slightly longer (more leg room) and the seat pan is lowered to give more headroom. But width is the same on the -6, -7, and -9.[/QUOT

Would it be at all feasible to lower the seat pan on my 6a for some more headroom?

Secondly if one did lower the seat pan would that mess with the view over the panel and negate the headroom?

Headroom

Fuselage is not wider. It is slightly longer (more leg room) and the seat pan is lowered to give more headroom. But width is the same on the -6, -7, and -9.[/QUOT

Would it be at all feasible to lower the seat pan on my 6a for some more headroom?

Secondly if one did lower the seat pan would that mess with the view over the panel and negate the headroom?