What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Where to build?

enigmakv

I'm New Here
Hello everyone from a total newbie.

A pilot I flew with recently was a multi-RV builder and really talked me in to pursuing it. After spending 2.5 decades away from general aviation, picking up some helicopter ratings put the smell of Avgas back in my blood.

From his suggestions and my research, it sounds like the RV-14 would be fantastically perfect for me (even though I have never been in or near an RV).

Here's my dilemma...where would I build it?

I live in a high-rise condo in Phoenix, AZ and don't have a garage. Hangar rentals are hard to come by and a hangar would need air conditioning due to the temperatures here 7 months of the year.

What have you all done or heard of others doing for the initial build process?
Is there such a thing as a business that rents out floor space in a hangar and/or tools for home builders?

As I said, I'm brand new to this whole thing. Hope to get a ride in a -14 soon.

Thanks.

KV

There are such things as build assist centers, where one has access to tools and technical expertise, and space is rented. Phoenix is large enough to have such a place. A quick web search turned one up in Mesa (not Vans specific). Maybe there is also one close to you?

I would suggest that a consensus exists (someone will now prove me wrong..) that it is best to build all of the small parts of the aircraft at home, where it is easy to spend smaller chunks of time working on things. The logic being, that one would not drive 20+ minutes to the airport/shop and 20+ minutes back in order to work for 15 minutes at the shop.

It is my experience that momentum is really a huge part of a successful build. Doing at least a little bit every day is more important than doing a large amount of work less frequently.