VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #1  
Old 08-16-2015, 12:03 PM
LettersFromFlyoverCountry's Avatar
LettersFromFlyoverCountry LettersFromFlyoverCountry is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN.
Posts: 4,715
Default APRS stopped working

Hi folks:
After a flight down to Red Wing a couple of weeks ago, my APRS suddenly stopped squawking me.

I've noticed some gaps in the track just prior to that, Oshkosh for example.

But nothing since that Red Wing flight.

We flew through a fair amount of rain on the way back from Cleveland a couple of months ago. And there was a long gap through Indiana.

I took the wingtip off today and verfied that the unit is getting a signal from the GPS -- steady green light -- and that it is transmitting -- red light and a packet burst on the scanner in the hangar.

The antenna was twisted in a few spots as the old Gorilla tape let go but I replaced it all and went for a flight today.

Nothing.

What steps should I take to diagnose this problem?
__________________
Bob Collins
St. Paul, MN.
Blog: Letters From Flyover Country
Almost ready to start the RV-12iS finishing kit. 480 hours in.

Builder log
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-16-2015, 01:40 PM
Joe Joe is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Independence, OR
Posts: 321
Default

Bob,

Good idea checking the antenna/RF situation but that is definitely not the problem as evidenced by your recent raw packets on aprs.fi. Plenty of packets but alas, not a single legitimate position report in the last 149 packets on August 15. I've never seen anything like this.

Couple of possibilities come to mind: could your GPS settings have been changed so it's no longer outputting $GPGGA or $GPRMC sentences or some other GPS-related malady? (I'm not sure if the steady green LED means the GPS is sending good sentences or only that it has acquired satellites.)

Your TinyTrak3 has switch-selectable primary and secondary operating parameters. Most people skip the switch and used the default (primary) but is it possible you've switched to the secondary parameters and they aren't programmed properly for position reports?

It would be helpful if you would post a screen capture of your TinyTrak3 configuration screen. Perhaps something seemingly innocuous somehow managed to get checked.

--
Joe
__________________

Joe Dubner
RV-8A
Independence, OR

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-16-2015, 04:45 PM
LettersFromFlyoverCountry's Avatar
LettersFromFlyoverCountry LettersFromFlyoverCountry is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN.
Posts: 4,715
Default

GPS not likely the culprit, at least in configuration.I'm using the little GPS puck out there, not feeding from the 296 in the cabin.

But, actually I'm using an old Micro Track (since discontinued)

I'll have to pull the unit, rig up the cable and see what the current configuration is.

Since we flew through so much rain coming back from Cleveland, I'm kinda wondering if there's any possibility a static electricity buildup might've had some kind of impact. Of course that was before the Red Wing flight.

I'm inclined to just upgrade the system.
__________________
Bob Collins
St. Paul, MN.
Blog: Letters From Flyover Country
Almost ready to start the RV-12iS finishing kit. 480 hours in.

Builder log

Last edited by LettersFromFlyoverCountry : 08-16-2015 at 04:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-16-2015, 08:50 PM
JohnInReno's Avatar
JohnInReno JohnInReno is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Prescott Valley/Chandler AZ
Posts: 289
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LettersFromFlyoverCountry View Post
Hi folks:

I've noticed some gaps in the track just prior to that, Oshkosh for example.
I have noticed gaps recently:

http://aprs.fi/#!mt=roadmap&z=11&cal...600&tail=21600

Nevada is kind of spars but not that much!

Tiny track with it's own GPS.
__________________
John Morgensen
RV-9A N946PM 500+ hours since 2013
Nevada/Arizona
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-16-2015, 11:24 PM
petehowell's Avatar
petehowell petehowell is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 2,127
Default Position Info

Bob,

I looks like your position info is not coming thru. Packets are there on the web, but no data to tell them where to plot it.

If you look at some on my raw data, you can see the position info:

2015-08-11 16:42:36 CDT: KD0CVN-1>APOT21,WIDE2-1,qAR,W0YC-5:!4434.37N/09230.43W'290/129/A=002427-018807.9V 74F
2015-08-11 16:44:21 CDT: KD0CVN-1>APOT21,WIDE2-1,qAR,N9XH-4:!4436.16N/09234.66W'302/119/A=002514+006607.8V 74F
2015-08-11 16:44:57 CDT: KD0CVN-1>APOT21,WIDE2-1,qAR,N0AGI:!4436.84N/09235.95W'314/112/A=002554+005507.9V 75F


Might be a bad connection from the GPS to the microtrak. Give me a call and we can talk thru it.
__________________
Cheers,
Pete

Amateur Plane - RV-9A N789PH - 2000+ Hrs
Amateur Radio - KD0CVN
Doggies Delivered - 25+
St. Paul, MN
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-17-2015, 05:28 AM
LettersFromFlyoverCountry's Avatar
LettersFromFlyoverCountry LettersFromFlyoverCountry is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN.
Posts: 4,715
Default

I hadn't seen the packet data before. That certainly answers a lot of questions.

Connections were solid between the gps and MT so I've ordered a new one and I'll swap it out.
__________________
Bob Collins
St. Paul, MN.
Blog: Letters From Flyover Country
Almost ready to start the RV-12iS finishing kit. 480 hours in.

Builder log
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-17-2015, 09:18 AM
NovaBandit's Avatar
NovaBandit NovaBandit is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 576
Default

I think your APRS just wanted to stop for some drinks at Muddy Waters in Prescott!
__________________
Ed Kranz
RV-10 N829EC - Flying
First Flight: 8/29/15
KSGS - Fleming Field, South Saint Paul, Minnesota

YouTube.com/GoodPlaneLiving
-- Build Timelapse and Travel Videos . . GoodPlaneLiving.com -- Build and Travel Blog
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-21-2015, 03:19 PM
LettersFromFlyoverCountry's Avatar
LettersFromFlyoverCountry LettersFromFlyoverCountry is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN.
Posts: 4,715
Default

Pete et al. I swapped out the GPS with a new GPS5 from Byonics. I got a flashing blue LED on the GPS5, signalling a link with the satellites, and I've got a steady green LED on the MicroTrak, signalling it's getting GPS data. Of course I had a steady green with the old GPS too, so there you go.

I haven't taken it up yet to see if it can hit a repeater and send good data.
__________________
Bob Collins
St. Paul, MN.
Blog: Letters From Flyover Country
Almost ready to start the RV-12iS finishing kit. 480 hours in.

Builder log
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-21-2015, 08:13 PM
mtnclimber mtnclimber is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nathrop Colorado
Posts: 62
Default

At about that same time, I had a flight from Northern AZ to Colorado, where packets were sent, but no GPS position. Flew again last week and worked perfectly.

My guess would be a temporary problem on the APRS server. GPS seemed to be normal on the EFIS, or I'd suspect a gps outage.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-21-2015, 08:16 PM
petehowell's Avatar
petehowell petehowell is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 2,127
Default

HI Bob,

we might want to program the microtrak to not use Mic-e compression, too. I can do that for you with my old laptop.

Send me a message if you are coming to KANE for the AOPA thing.


Quote:
Originally Posted by LettersFromFlyoverCountry View Post
Pete et al. I swapped out the GPS with a new GPS5 from Byonics. I got a flashing blue LED on the GPS5, signalling a link with the satellites, and I've got a steady green LED on the MicroTrak, signalling it's getting GPS data. Of course I had a steady green with the old GPS too, so there you go.

I haven't taken it up yet to see if it can hit a repeater and send good data.
__________________
Cheers,
Pete

Amateur Plane - RV-9A N789PH - 2000+ Hrs
Amateur Radio - KD0CVN
Doggies Delivered - 25+
St. Paul, MN
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:51 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.