What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Nose Gear Shimmy

rcwagner55

I'm New Here
I am new to RV's and just bought an RV7A. I consistently have a pretty severe nose wheel shimmy upon landing. I am sure it is the nose wheel by the fact that it does start until I set the nose wheel down. I have tightened the pivot nut to where the force at the axle to swivel the nose wheel is about 28 lbs. I have increase tire pressure to 50 psi. It seems the tire pressure increase helped a little, but still have a shimmy. Can anyone give me some advise on how to cure this issue?

shimmyshimmyshimmy

Hey Bob, where do you fly out of in beautiful Twisp? ;-)

I have sold my -9a, but had the occasional shimmy.
I think you are going to find a lot of info and opinions, so what works for you may not be someone else's magic bullet.
the higher pressure and tighter breakout are typical gremlins to go after.
what STARTS the shimmy can be hard to quantify, so if I had it start, touching the brakes seemed to tuck it into line, and it stopped.
whether the change of load, angle, g-force, it seemed to help, and then you'd passed thru that speed range, or cleared the rough asphalt, or whatever triggered it!

proponents of the AntiSplat bearing mod often say they've seen an improvement with the lack of friction; I can't verify that, altho I did add the axle spacer to make it easier to set the bearing crush, the drag hopefully more consistent then. good luck!

http://www.matcomfg.com/AXLEASSEMBLYA24125INCH-idv-3657-1.html

I'd make sure the nose wheel is balanced as well as possible. My -9A had no shimmy at all until about the 150-hour mark, but tire wear resulted in a minor imbalance. I bought a $30 motorcycle wheel balancer off eBay, and after adding about 2 oz. of weight, the shimmy was greatly reduced.